Agaton steady; Thousands affected
The storm's toll continues to be at 40 people, with 65 others injured and 6 missing; More than 723,000 affected across 4 regions in Mindanao

MANILA, Philippines – Tropical Depression Agaton continues to hover just southeast of Mindanao Monday, January 20, and is still bringing rain to parts of the island and affecting more than 700,000 people.

As of 4 am Monday, Agaton was located 230 km southeast of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur, or 230 km east of Davao City, carrying maximum sustained winds of 55 km/h near its center.

Public storm warning signal number 1 is still hoisted over the following provinces:

  • Surigao del Sur
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Davao Oriental
  • Davao del Norte
  • Davao del Sur
  • Compostela Valley

Rainfall in these areas can be moderate to heavy (5-15 mm/h), the bureau said.

The system is moving west southwest at 5 km/h, and is expected to be 140 km southeast of Davao City by Tuesday, January 21.

It is also expected to bring moderate to occasionally heavy rain and thunderstorms over Northern Mindanao and the rest of Caraga.

Toll remains at 40

The storm’s toll continues to be at 40 people, with 65 others injured and 6 missing, the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) said in its 6 am report Monday. The death count has not changed since Saturday, January 18.

The number of affected people, however, has risen: a total of 723,517 people (153,193 families) are now affected, coming from 781 barangays in 102 provinces, located in 15 provinces across Regions X, XI, ARMM, and Caraga, the NDRRMC said.

A total of 352 evacuation centers have been opened, housing a total of 119,605 people, of 25,495 families.

One province, three cities, and 17 municipalities have been placed under a state of calamity as of Sunday, January 19:

  • Lanao del Norte
  • Cities of Iligan, Tagum, and Butuan
  • Kapalong, Davao del Norte
  • Carmen, Davao del Norte
  • Asuncion, Davao del Norte
  • New Corella, Davao del Norte
  • Tarragona, Davao Oriental
  • Manay, Davao Oriental
  • Caraga, Davao Oriental
  • Baganga, Davao Oriental
  • Cateel, Davao Oriental
  • Boston, Davao Oriental
  • Sta Josefa, Agusan del Sur
  • Sibagat, Agusan del Sur
  • Bunawan, Agusan del Sur
  • Liang, Surigao del Sur
  • Tago, Surigao del Sur
  • San Miguel, Surigao del Sur
  • Bislig, Surigao del Sur

Monday classes and government offices have been suspended in several provinces and cities:

  • Compostela Valley (classes in all levels)
  • Davao City (preschool to high school, public and private)
  • Dinagat Islands (classes in all levels, government work)
  • Butuan City (classes, government work, private offices)
  • Agusan del Sur 
  • Tandag City
  • Bayabas
  • Cantilan
  • Madrid
  • Lanuza
  • Lingig

The next bulletin on Agaton will be released at 11 am Monday.

“The public and the disaster risk reduction and management councils concerned are advised to take appropriate actions,” the bureau advised.  –

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.