FACT CHECK: Only June 12 is a national non-working holiday

Claim: The blog philnews.ph on Friday, June 1, posted that June 6, 9, 11, 12, 15, 16, 18, 21 are all holidays declared by the Palace.

The site published with the headline, “Work & Class Suspensions On June 6, 9, 11, 12, 15, 16, 18, 21, 2018.”

The blog post’s first 3 paragraphs do not immediately say that Independence Day on June 12 is the only day declared by the Palace as a national non-working holiday, while the other dates are local non-working holidays.

The blog post was shared by 11 different Facebook pages and groups with a total of 1,676,890 followers. Within these groups and pages, the post has generated a total of 50,652 interactions as of Monday, June 4.

There are also other blogs which have reported on the list of June holidays, but the headlines of these articles immediately state that the holidays are in “selected areas” only.

Rating: MIXED

The Facts: Only June 12 is a national non-working holiday. June 6, 9, 11, 15, 16, 18, and 21 are special non-working local holidays.

The post’s headline could be misinterpreted by the readers as declaring all 8 dates to be regular holidays.

Regular holidays are those celebrated on fixed dates such as Independence Day on June 12 or National Heroes’ Day on August 27 this year (the 4th monday of August). These holidays are celebrated nationwide.

Meanwhile, special non-working holidays are those for more specific events such as Ninoy Aquino Day on August 21, which is observed nationwide, or Leyte Landing Day on October 20 which is observed in the entire Leyte province (including Ormoc City).

The blog post, however, clarified in the succeeding paragraphs the type of holiday of each date mentioned.

With the exception of Independence day on June 12, the following dates are all special non-working, local holidays: 

Meanwhile, the date for Eid al-Fitr, a regular holiday, varies according to the Islamic calendar. (READ: FAST FACTS: Eid al-Fitr)

A presidential proclamation is usually issued to declare a specific date as a regular holiday. For instance, last year, June 26 was the declared date for the holiday.

A proclamation regarding the date of observance of Eid al-Fitr this year has not yet been issued.

In addition to this, the city of Manila will also celebrate “Manila Day,” its 447th founding anniversary, on June 24. A presidential proclamation regarding the holiday has not yet been issued. – Miguel Imperial/Rappler.com


If you suspect a Facebook page, group, account, a website, or an article is spreading false information, let Rappler know by contacting us at factcheck@rappler.com. Let us battle disinformation one Fact Check at a time.