Where are the coronavirus cases in Luzon?

The Philippines has 421,722 confirmed cases of the coronavirus as of Tuesday, November 24.

A total of 124,154 cases (or 29% of cases nationwide) have been reported in all provinces and independent cities in Luzon, based on the dataset shared by the Department of Health (DOH). This count includes 1,209 cases whose residence is for validation.

Of the total cases, 1,772 have died and 111,508 have recovered, bringing the number of active cases to 10,874 (or 8.8% of the Luzon total).

Here's a breakdown of these numbers in Luzon. (READ: PH coronavirus cases in maps and charts: What the data says)

Timeline of quarantines

Below is a timeline of the different levels of quarantines enforced in Luzon:

March 17 to April 30 – The entire Luzon is placed under an enhanced community quarantine (ECQ). It would have ended on April 12, but it is extended to April 30.

May 1 to May 15 – Central Luzon (except Aurora), Calabarzon, the provinces of Pangasinan and Benguet, as well as Baguio City remain under ECQ. A general community quarantine (GCQ) is enforced in the rest of Luzon that are tagged as "low-risk" or "moderate-risk" areas.

May 16 to May 31 – Laguna (in Calabarzon) and Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Zambales, and Angeles City (in Central Luzon) remain under lockdown but now under a modified ECQ or MECQ. The rest of Luzon is under GCQ.

June 1 to June 15 – Central Luzon and Calabarzon are placed under GCQ. Cagayan Valley and the provinces of Pangasinan and Albay remain under GCQ. The rest of Luzon is under a modified GCQ (MGCQ).

June 16 to June 30 – Cagayan Valley (except Batanes); Calabarzon; the provinces of Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, and Tarlac, and Olongapo City in Central Luzon; and the province of Occidental Mindoro are placed under GCQ. The rest of Luzon remains under MGCQ.

July 1 to July 15 – The provinces of Benguet, Cavite, and Rizal remain under GCQ. The rest of Luzon is still under MGCQ.

July 16 to July 31 – Cavite and Rizal are still under GCQ, and Laguna is added to the list. Many areas are classified as MGCQ medium risk, while the rest are under a regular MGCQ.

August 1 to 3 – Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal remain under GCQ, while Batangas and Bulacan are added to the list. The rest of Luzon continues to be under MGCQ.

August 4 to 18 – After a group of health professionals requested a two-week ECQ in Mega Manila to slow down the spread of cases, the government obliged, but Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal (along with Metro Manila) are placed back under MECQ instead.

August 19 to 31 – Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal return to GCQ, and these areas are joined by Batangas, Nueva Ecija, and Quezon. The rest of Luzon remains under MGCQ.

September 1 to 30 – Bulacan and Batangas remain under GCQ. The rest of Luzon is still under MGCQ.

October 1 to November 30 – Batangas is still under GCQ. The rest of Luzon remains under MGCQ.

Luzon consists of 38 provinces and 8 independent cities in 7 regions (excluding Metro Manila), with a population of 44,592,844, as of the 2015 census.

The DOH launched a new nCoV tracker on Sunday, April 12, then shared its dataset to the public on April 14. – Rappler.com