Where are the coronavirus cases in Mindanao?

The Philippines has 322,497 confirmed cases of the coronavirus as of Sunday, October 4.

A total of 13,933 cases (or 4% of cases nationwide) have been reported in all provinces and independent cities in Mindanao, based on the dataset shared by the Department of Health (DOH). This count includes 126 cases whose residence is for validation.

Of the total cases, 355 have died and 10,256 have recovered, bringing the number of active cases to 3,322 (or 24% of the Mindanao total).

Here's a breakdown of these numbers in Mindanao. (READ: PH coronavirus cases in maps and charts: What the data says)

Timeline of quarantines

Below is a timeline of the different levels of quarantines enforced in Mindanao:

April 24 to May 15 – Davao City is placed under ECQ along with Davao del Norte and Davao de Oro.

The lockdown's coverage is later calibrated according to the status of the virus' spread in the different localities. A general community quarantine (GCQ) is enforced in areas tagged as "low-risk" or "moderate-risk" areas in Mindanao.

May 16 to May 31 – Zamboanga Peninsula, Davao Region, and Caraga are under GCQ, while the rest of Mindanao are under a modified GCQ (MGCQ).

June 1 to June 30 – Davao City and Zamboanga City remain under GCQ, while the rest of Mindanao is still under MGCQ.

July 1 to July 15 – The entire Mindanao, including the cities of Davao and Zamboanga, is under MGCQ, with several areas asked to exercise "strict local action" in implementing quarantine measures.

July 16 to July 31 – Zamboanga City, Basilan, Agusan del Norte, and Butuan City are back under GCQ. Many areas are classified as MGCQ medium risk, while the rest are under a regular MGCQ.

August 1 to 15 – GCQ is extended in Zamboanga City. The rest of Mindanao continues to be under MGCQ.

August 16 to 31 – The entire Mindanao is under MGCQ, with the return of Zamboanga City in the list.

September 1 to 30 – Iligan City is reverted to the stricter MECQ. Lanao del Sur, which has been under MGCQ, is also placed under MECQ on September 8. The rest of Mindanao is under MGCQ.

October 1 to 31 – Lanao del Sur remains under MECQ, while Iligan City is eased back into GCQ. The rest of Mindanao continues to be under MGCQ.

Mindanao consists of 27 provinces and 7 independent cities in 6 regions, with a population of 24,135,775, as of the 2015 census.

The DOH launched a new nCoV tracker on Sunday, April 12, then shared its dataset to the public on April 14. – Rappler.com