Where are the coronavirus cases in the Visayas?

The Philippines has 322,497 confirmed cases of the coronavirus as of Sunday, October 4.

A total of 40,129 cases (or 12% of cases nationwide) have been reported in all provinces and independent cities in the Visayas, based on the dataset shared by the Department of Health (DOH). This count includes 229 cases whose residence is for validation.

Of the total cases, 1,565 have died and 33,478 have recovered, bringing the number of active cases to 5,086 (or 13% of the Visayas total).

Here's a breakdown of these numbers in the Visayas. (READ: PH coronavirus cases in maps and charts: What the data says)

Timeline of quarantines

Below is a timeline of the different levels of quarantines enforced in the Visayas:

April 24 to May 15 – The provinces of Iloilo and Cebu as well as Cebu City are placed under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) along with other provinces in Panay island.

The lockdown's coverage is later calibrated according to the status of the virus' spread in the different localities. A general community quarantine (GCQ) is enforced in those tagged as "low-risk" or "moderate-risk" areas in the Visayas.

May 16 to May 31 – Cebu City and Mandaue City remain under ECQ. (Initially, Cebu City would have been downgraded to a modified ECQ.) The rest of Central Visayas is placed under GCQ, while Western Visayas and Eastern Visayas are under a modified GCQ (MGCQ).

June 1 to June 15 – The entire Central Visayas, including Cebu City and Mandaue City, is placed under GCQ. The rest of the Visayas remains under MGCQ.

June 16 to June 30 – Cebu City is placed under ECQ again. Talisay City is placed under a modified ECQ. The rest of Central Visayas, including the cities of Mandaue and Lapu-Lapu, are still under GCQ. The rest of the Visayas are under MGCQ.

July 1 to July 15 – Cebu City remains under ECQ. Mandaue City and Lapu-Lapu City are still under GCQ, along with Talisay City, Minglanilla, and Consolacion in Cebu province. Leyte, Ormoc City, and Southern Leyte are added to the list of GCQ areas. 

The rest of Cebu province and the rest of the Visayas are under MGCQ, with several areas asked to exercise "strict local action" in implementing quarantine measures.

July 16 to July 31 – Cebu City's lockdown is eased to a modified ECQ or MECQ. The GCQ is extended in Mandaue City, Lapu-Lapu City, Talisay City, Minglanilla, and Consolacion in Cebu province, as well as Ormoc City and Southern Leyte. Meanwhile, the rest of Leyte province is placed under MGCQ.

Many areas are classified as MGCQ medium risk, while the rest are under a regular MGCQ.

August 1 to 15 – Cebu City is eased back into GCQ, joining Mandaue City, Lapu-Lapu City, Talisay City, Minglanilla, and Consolacion in Cebu province. The rest of the Visayas remains under MGCQ.

August 16 to 31 – Iloilo City joins the list of areas under GCQ along with Cebu City and the 5 affected areas in Cebu province, while the rest of the Visayas continues to be under MGCQ.

September 1 to 30 – Tacloban City is reverted to GCQ. Bacolod City is initially reverted to GCQ on September 1, but is placed under a stricter MECQ again from September 8 to 30. Likewise, Iloilo City has been under MGCQ until it is placed under MECQ on September 25. The rest of the Visayas, including Cebu City and the whole of Cebu province, is under MGCQ.

October 1 to 31 – Bacolod City is eased back into GCQ, while Tacloban City remains under GCQ. Iloilo City's MECQ status is supposed to be until October 9, but it is lowered to GCQ on October 1. The rest of the Visayas is under MGCQ.

The Visayas consists of 16 provinces and 7 independent cities in 3 regions, with a population of 19,373,431, as of the 2015 census.

The DOH launched a new nCoV tracker on Sunday, April 12, then shared its dataset to the public on April 14. – Rappler.com