4 out of 5 NCR police district chiefs relieved

Bea Cupin

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

(2nd UPDATE) Four out of 5 NCRPO district chiefs are relieved as 'part of the reinvigorated anti-criminality campaign for NCR'
PNP. The facade of the Philippine National Police headquarters in Camp Crame. AFP file photo

MANILA, Philippines (2nd UPDATE) – There’s a shakeup in the command at the National Capital Region Police Office (NCRPO), after Interior Secretary Manuel Roxas II approved the recommendation of NCRPO chief Police Director Carmelo Valmoria on Wednesday, October 8.

Four of out 5 districts in NCR have new chiefs. The following will now be the heads of 4 NCR districts: 

  • Southern Police District (SPD) – Chief Superintendent Henry Ranola
  • Northern Police District (NPD) – Chief Superintendent Jonathan Ferdinand Miano
  • Manila Police District (MPD) – Senior Superintendent Rolando Nana
  • Quezon City Police District (QCPD) – Senior Superintendent Joel Pagdilao  

They replace Chief Superintendent Jose Erwin Villacorte of the SPD, Chief Superintendent Edgar Layon of the NPD, Chief Superintendent Rolando Asuncion of the MPD, and Chief Superintendent Richard Albano of the QCPD. 

The only district chief who maintained his post is Eastern Police District head Chief Superintendent Abelardo Villacorta. 

The incumbent police chiefs will be placed in new posts. In a statement, Roxas said the changes are “part of the reinvigorated anti-criminality campaign for NCR” and are effective immediately. 

Prior to Wednesday’s major shake-up, the PNP relieved 14 out of 38 police station commanders, said Roxas.

The following are the relieved police station chiefs:

  • Senior Superintendent Bernardo Tambaoan of the Caloocan police station 
  • Senior Superintendent Mario Rariza, Jr of the Pasig police station
  • Senior Superintendent Joselito Daniel of the San Juan police station 
  • Senior Superintendent Florencio Ortilla 
  • Superintendent Osmundo de Guzman of the La Loma police station
  • Superintendent Norberto Babagay of the Novaliches police station 
  • Superintendent Eleazar Matta of the Batasan police station
  • Superintendent Ramon Pranada of the Cubao police station 
  • Superintendent Victor Pagulayan of the Galas police station
  • Superintendent Luis Francisco of the Meisic police station 
  • Superintendent Rizalino Padrique of the Sampaloc police station 
  • Superintendent Restituto Arcangel of the Santa Mesa police station 
  • Superintendent Mannan Muarip of the Malate police station 
  • Superintendent Alberto Barot of the Sta. Ana police station

PNP chief Director General Alan Purisima “favorably endorsed” the changes, said Roxas.


On Thursday, October 9, the PNP also announced the assignment of 3 other officers to new posts.

Purisima assigned Chief Superintendent Federico Castro, Jr. as the new Executive Officer of the Director for Integrated Police Operations Visayas.


Senior Superintendent Rudy Lacadin, meanwhile was appointed the new Deputy Director for Administration for the PNP’s Criminal Investigation and Detection Group while Senior Superintendent Elmo Francis Sarona was appointed the office-in-charge of the National Operations Center.


Similar to the 4 new district police chiefs, their new designation took effect on Wednesday. – Rappler.com

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!
Avatar photo


Bea Cupin

Bea is a senior multimedia reporter who covers national politics. She's been a journalist since 2011 and has written about Congress, the national police, and the Liberal Party for Rappler.