2022 Philippine Elections

18,100 national, local seats up for grabs in the 2022 Philippine elections

Dwight de Leon

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

18,100 national, local seats up for grabs in the 2022 Philippine elections

Nico Villarete/Rappler

The total number of seats is now 18,100, from the original 18,180, following the signing of the law postponing the BARMM elections to 2025

Politicians from across the country will vie for 18,100 elective seats in the 2022 national and local polls, according to the Commission on Elections (Comelec).

The total seats as of August 2021 were 18,180, but in October 2021, President Rodrigo Duterte signed the law postponing the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao elections to 2025, thus reducing the number of total seats by 80.

Based on Comelec Resolution No. 10713 released on August 11, these include 77 national posts: 1 president, 1 vice president, 12 senators, and 63 party-list representatives.

The rest are local seats:

  • 253 legislative district representatives
  • 81 governors
  • 81 vice governors
  • 782 provincial board members
  • 146 city mayors
  • 146 city vice mayors
  • 1650 city councilors
  • 1,488 municipal mayors
  • 1,488 municipal vice mayors
  • 11,908 municipal councilors
  • 40 Bangamoro Autonomous Region for Muslim Mindanao party representatives
  • 32 BARMM parliamentary district representatives
  • 8 BARMM reserved seats and sectoral representatives

Most notably, the number of legislative district seats up for grabs rose to 253 in 2022 from 243 in 2019. That’s due to multiple redistricting laws passed in the 17th Congress and 18th Congress.

These new districts are in Bulacan (2), Caloocan (1), Rizal (2), Bataan (1), and Southern Leyte (1). Santa Rosa City in Laguna, Mandaue City in Cebu, and General Santos City in South Cotabato are also classified as new congressional districts.

Must Read

LIST: New congressional districts in the 2022 elections

LIST: New congressional districts in the 2022 elections

The Comelec, however, has said it has yet to determine the allocation of the seats in the BARMM parliamentary elections due to the unavailability of the following:

  • Bangsamoro Electoral Code
  • Apportionment of the BARMM into parliamentary districts
  • Manner of election of the reserved and electoral seats
  • Treatment of the 63 barangays in North Cotabato for purpose of the election

Some 61 million people are projected by the poll body to be eligible to cast their ballots in the 2022 elections. – Rappler.com

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!
Avatar photo


Dwight de Leon

Dwight de Leon is a multimedia reporter who covers President Ferdinand Marcos Jr., the Malacañang, and the Commission on Elections for Rappler.