WPFD 2018 opinion
ARTICLE FINDER

[OPINION] Marcos and Duterte: Strongmen’s changing playbook

Apr 30, 2018 - 1:00 PM

Threats to a free press have returned in different forms. There is no other way ahead but to stay the course.

[EDITORIAL] #AnimatED: Bakit takot sa media ang mga diktador?

Apr 30, 2018 - 9:00 AM

Kung paanong magkaiba ang katotohanan at kasinungalingan, ganoon ding magkasalungat ang demokrasya at diktadura

[OPINION] We’re not here to be your friends

Mar 10, 2018 - 8:30 AM

It's time we call out reporters who are overly chummy with government officials, who ride the wave of this administration's popularity at the cost of critical and impartial reporting and commentary

[OPINION] Duterte's zero concept of independent journalism

Feb 25, 2018 - 5:00 PM

This truly reflects the sad state of journalism in the Philippines. It shows the swath of reality that independent journalism has not yet taken root in our society.

[OPINION | Newspoint] The great sellout

Feb 24, 2018 - 2:00 PM

If we think the ultimate danger is native, Marcos-style authoritarianism, we really have not been looking. What we stand to lose this time is not just our freedom, but our sovereignty, our identity, our very soul as a nation

[OPINION] Hold the line for whom?

Feb 11, 2018 - 9:00 AM

Crossing the line is an experiment. It shows us what happens when the nation's sacred cows are shamed, and what happens when the Duterte regime raises sacred cows of their own.

[OPINION | Newspoint] A dangerous place

Dec 23, 2017 - 11:10 AM

The Philippines is actually one of the world's most dangerous places not just for journalists but for its very own people

Democracy under threat: We will shine the light, we will hold the line

Nov 03, 2017 - 11:20 AM

'Like many, I fear that the pendulum of democracy is swinging the other way globally, enabled by social media,' says Maria Ressa when she accepted the National Democracy Institute's W. Averell Harriman Democracy Award on November 2 (US time)