opinion - updates

Rappler's latest stories on opinion

ARTICLE FINDER

[OPINION] Good policies, bad execution, worse timing

May 27, 2020 - 12:00 PM

'Let's not rush TRAIN 2/CITIRA/CREATE (or whatever they are calling it now) and make an effort to get it done better compared to TRAIN 1 and rice tariffication'

[OPINION] Laudato Si', 5 years later

May 26, 2020 - 10:00 AM

Laudato Si' has become one of the most influential social encyclicals that has been released by a pope

[OPINION] Breaking the wheel: The rise of bicycle-riding

May 25, 2020 - 12:10 PM

'LGUs must avoid building bicycle infrastructures just for the sake of doing it. It is not enough to create bikeways by just laying down paint on the road.'

[OPINION] Diary of a wimpy biker in Metro Manila

May 24, 2020 - 5:00 PM

'At the end of the day, we all just want to get to our home safely and quickly.... If we treat others on the roads as enemies, we really are bound to make enemies.'

[OPINION] Ramadan on lockdown: The habits we break, the values we relearn

May 24, 2020 - 1:00 PM

'For a fasting person [under quarantine], it was a different level of hardship altogether'

[OPINION | Dash of SAS] Sex under lockdown

May 23, 2020 - 4:00 PM

Whatever stage you are in this pandemic-prompted sexual journey, we’re refreshing the safe sex playbook with coronavirus updates to keep the lockdown sex hot – and safe

[OPINYON] Bakit tayo umaasa?

May 22, 2020 - 4:30 PM

'Sa kabuuang pananaw, ang mga guro...ang midliners. May tungkulin tayong sinumpaan at kung makikiisa tayo, may adbokasiya tayong pairalin ang sistema ng edukasyon kahit sa gitna ng krisis.'

[OPINION] Why it's so difficult for us to 'heal as one'

May 22, 2020 - 3:00 PM

'If we are serious about healing as one, we need to recognize the problems of our society one by one'

[OPINION] Have you asked your teachers how they're doing in this pandemic?

May 21, 2020 - 3:15 PM

'Does the institution care for our teachers? What if those teachers also become carriers of the virus to their students and family members? Will the Department of Education and the Commission on Higher Education be accountable for this?'

[OPINION] How do you practice non-toxic positivity?

May 21, 2020 - 1:15 PM

'How can we keep positive in a way that affirms the fortitude of the human spirit?'

[OPINYON] Namimigay ng bigas, aso, smartphones, pera...

May 21, 2020 - 9:00 AM

Para-paraan ang mga gustong dumami ang followers, tapos ay ibebenta sa kung sinong herodes na malamang ay pulitikong mangangailangan ng titingin sa kaniyang recycled na plataporma at niretokeng pagmumukha

[PODCAST] I've Got An Opinion: Fat is not a bad word

May 20, 2020 - 8:00 PM

For many, to be fat means to be unattractive, undesirable, unhealthy, and lazy. But some people want to turn that around.

[OPINION] Katherine's death calls for women’s reproductive health in pandemic

May 20, 2020 - 3:49 PM

'Katherine was refused admission and care by 6 hospitals. She was declared dead on arrival by the time she arrived at the seventh hospital.'

[OPINION] Taking advantage of the 'Twitter University major' during the pandemic

May 20, 2020 - 2:26 PM

'If we can leverage this Twitter University right, it can be a great platform to learn from amazing professors, scientists, and experts for free; receive accurate information in an instant, and voice our concerns'

[OPINION] Happy in Happyland: Notes from Tondo during the lockdown

May 19, 2020 - 3:38 PM

'What really struck me about visiting Happyland is that life there goes on'

[OPINION] The case for going cashless

May 19, 2020 - 3:06 PM

'India pressed a computer key to make the payments, while the Philippines walked a bag full of cash door to door'

[OPINION] Pandemics come in waves, not in a single stroke

May 18, 2020 - 4:59 PM

'As the Duterte government mulls the end of its constantly changing lockdown measures, with no coherent transition policy and no mass testing conducted, Filipinos might be in for an unpleasant surprise'

What living in the office for 7+ weeks has taught us

May 18, 2020 - 3:30 PM

'Since this pandemic started, the team and I have repeatedly talked about the need to focus on the things we can control'

[OPINION] Should Christians protest?

May 17, 2020 - 12:30 PM

'Some Christians today say that Jesus had nothing to do with politics. He criticized religious leaders but not the political ones, they reason. But this is a distorted reading of the Bible.'

[OPINION] A time like no other: Lessons from the Great Depression

May 16, 2020 - 8:30 PM

'Our people crave, yearn for, and deserve the kind of leadership that rises to the occasion'

[OPINION] Digital dating under lockdown: Can tech really fix dating?

May 16, 2020 - 5:00 PM

'Is it possible to find love online? How are singles supposed to navigate through this new era of dating? Can social media fix dating?'

[OPINION] The Philippine problem goes beyond a lack of discipline

May 15, 2020 - 1:30 PM

'We don’t lack discipline. One can see that easily enough in many Filipinos who move to other countries and adjust to new rules rather speedily. We need better governance for a start.'

[OPINION] It’s time to consider other means of cash aid distribution

May 15, 2020 - 9:30 AM

'During an emergency in a remote area of Kenya, cash transfers were used as an option for delivering aid. This was made possible through the help of community volunteers who conducted household assessments.'

[OPINION] Statistics are not just numbers, but people

May 14, 2020 - 2:09 PM

'There’s nothing wrong with looking at the bright side of things. Let’s just make sure we don’t overlook the other side.'

[OPINION] Fighting a pandemic and the climate emergency

May 14, 2020 - 2:00 PM

'One has to remember that like pathogens, climate change is not hampered by borders'

[OPINION] What do we risk when free speech is suppressed?

May 14, 2020 - 12:55 PM

'The Philippines and the rest of the world would not be in this mess if we had immediate access to Dr Li's crucial information'

f

[OPINION] Architecture in a post-coronavirus society

May 14, 2020 - 9:00 AM

'Spaces should be purposefully designed knowing what we want to achieve, where we want to go, and how much development we want as a civilization'

[OPINION] The era of cheap flights is over

May 13, 2020 - 1:44 PM

'When the dust settles, whether by reason of conscience, aversion to novel pathogens, or dislike of higher prices, many will put off from taking to the sky'

[OPINION] Gender equality in a post-pandemic world

May 13, 2020 - 1:09 PM

'A society that is open to see past the great gender divide and choose leaders based on their moral and professional record will tremendously benefit from it'

[OPINION] Education for compassion: In defense of mass promoting students

May 12, 2020 - 3:00 PM

'We are not being kind to our students and teachers by making them produce schoolwork – we are exposing them to further psychological distress that school administrators could have easily removed'

[OPINION] An OFW's letter to President Duterte on the deployment ban

May 12, 2020 - 9:00 AM

'Military enlistment is not best done at the brink of a war, and neither is the massive employment of nurses during a pandemic'

[OPINION] The trials of being a Filipina nurse with a foreign surname

May 11, 2020 - 4:00 PM

'For now, my wish is that no other half-Filipina nurse – or any other nurse for that matter – would have to go through the same experience I did'

[OPINION] OFWs and immigrants as milking cows

May 11, 2020 - 2:37 PM

'The disabled Philippine economy largely depends upon OFW and immigrant remittances.... Thus, there’s no reason to treat these 'modern-day heroes' with insensitivity and overtaxation.

[OPINION] We are going beyond a climate crisis

May 11, 2020 - 2:09 PM

'If poverty persists and the conversion of ecosystems continues, pathogens will always have a venue to move from one host or one environment to the next'

[OPINION] How I learned to say 'I love you' to my mom

May 10, 2020 - 3:00 PM

'I was content in the comfort and strength I drew from my mom’s reliability, her expectations, and even her aversion to healthy emotion. My reticent mother and I were a match.'

[OPINION] How do we mourn the death of a peasant woman political prisoner?

May 10, 2020 - 10:00 AM

'I hope that the government would release political prisoners, especially those who are elderly and sick. We know that Nanay Ede could have been your mother, could have been any of the 19.7 million agricultural workers in the country.'

[OPINION] In this time of fear, we must remember who the real enemy is

May 09, 2020 - 7:00 PM

'Do we bolt to safety and mind our own business? Or do we shed our pride, our hiya, and take a long, hard look at what is happening?'

[OPINION] Balik-Probinsya: Are we learning the wrong lessons from the pandemic?

May 09, 2020 - 4:30 PM

'The literature on what a post-lockdown world would look like is growing. Balik-Probinsya need not be our dystopian contribution.'

[OPINION] Our biggest asset: Putting employee health first in the pandemic

May 08, 2020 - 1:32 PM

'We did a rough survey of what companies are currently contemplating to implement once the ECQ is lifted. A handful of creative measures are being proposed.'

[OPINION] To the graduating class of COVID-19

May 08, 2020 - 1:00 PM

'It’s tempting to now tap into the optimism and promise of graduation and other school year-end rituals when the world is so bleak. But I am deciding against it.'

[OPINION] Dura lex and salus populi: TV stations and the duty of government

May 08, 2020 - 12:31 PM

'It’s pandemic time, for crying out loud! Will the state fall if ABS-CBN is unable to comply with its mandates from NTC? Will it be a source of danger to the community? Is the Republic better served by hounding it?'

[OPINION] Our lack of critical reflection is the real disease in our midst

May 08, 2020 - 9:30 AM

'We tolerate inefficiency, irregularities, and incompetence, and then call ourselves resilient'

[OPINION] Ang shutdown ng ABS-CBN

May 07, 2020 - 4:00 PM

'Apaw na ang poot at galit. Ang init ng panahon dahil sa masasakit na salitang itinatapon sa hangin. Kung nais nating maghilom, makinig tayo sa isa’t isa. Huwag natin ishutdown ang may ibang pananaw kaysa atin.'

[OPINION] 2 legs and a pandemic

May 07, 2020 - 9:30 AM

'The new coronavirus is here to kill the body, not our humanity'

[PODCAST] I've Got An Opinion: Bisexuals are super misunderstood

May 06, 2020 - 8:00 PM

We’re putting bisexuals in the spotlight! We talk to LGBT activist Vince Liban, who wants to debunk the many, many myths on being bi.

[OPINION] A data driven revolution for a better future

May 06, 2020 - 2:30 PM

'COVID-19 is showing us that revolutionary change is possible'

[OPINION] Are we going to prioritize research and development after this?

May 06, 2020 - 1:31 PM

'Wouldn't it be beneficial to future generations if we start noticing and trusting the talents of our own people instead of doubting their capabilities?'

[OPINION] The mark of a good leader

May 06, 2020 - 9:30 AM

'Our little research has led us to this conclusion: it is not age, gender, or race that makes a leader good. The mark of a good leader is the right balance of empathy and control.'

[OPINION] No to the new Philhealth premium for OFWs

May 06, 2020 - 7:35 AM

'When they were drafting the law, did they even bother to ask OFWs around the world if they agreed to this obligation?'

[OPINION] We should listen to what our beneficiaries have to say

May 05, 2020 - 3:52 PM

'It is important to listen to the perceptions and sentiments of the people we wish to help.... It is worth involving them in decisions that determine their fate.'