opinion
ARTICLE FINDER

1 in 3 Filipinos open to authoritarianism before Duterte – surveys

Sep 01, 2018 - 8:30 AM

Surveys conducted from 2002 to 2014 show some Filipinos agree with scrapping elections in favor of a strong leader and letting the military take over government

[OPINION] Silicon Valley, from ‘heart’s delight’ to toxic wasteland

Jul 12, 2018 - 3:02 PM

Silicon Valley might become this generation's Detroit if it can't reverse its moral decline, writes a pair of US professors

APPLE PARK. Aerial view of Apple Park, the corporate headquarters of Apple Inc., located in Cupertino, California. The roof is covered in solar panels with an output of 17 Mega Watt peak, making it one of the biggest solar roofs in the world. Photo by Daniel L. Lu, Wikimedia Commons, licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International license


De Castro says Sereno ousted over tendency to 'lie, mislead'

May 13, 2018 - 7:00 PM

Associate Justice Teresita de Castro says ousted Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno's 'pattern of lies' began even before she was appointed to head the Supreme Court

TESTIMONY. Associate Justice Teresita Leonardo-de Castro testifies before the House committee on justice as it tackled an impeachment case against then-chief justice Maria Lourdes Sereno. File poto by Darren Langit/Rappler

Carpio dissents in Sereno ouster, but says she violated SALN law

May 12, 2018 - 6:51 PM

Associate Justice Estela Perlas-Bernabe’s dissent also notes that facts and the own statements of ousted Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno 'cast shadows of doubt on her claim that she indeed faithfully filed all her SALNs'

CONFLICT? Acting Chief Justice Antonio Carpio rebuffs the claim of f Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno that he did not submit all of his SALNs. Photo by Ted Aljibe/AFP

SolGen wields 'quo warranto sword of Damocles' after Sereno ouster

May 12, 2018 - 6:25 PM

'With the SolGen wielding a quo warranto sword of Damocles over the heads of these officers, the Filipino people cannot be assured that they will discharge their constitutional mandate and functions without fear or favor,' says Associate Justice Mariano del Castillo

MORE POWERFUL? The ouster of Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno via quo warranto has reportedly made the Office of the Solicitor General more powerful. File photo by Ben Nabong/Rappler

Leonen, Te tweet 'dissent' from SC’s quo warranto vote

May 11, 2018 - 8:13 PM

The Supreme Court justice says on social media the petition should have been dismissed outright, while the spokesperson posts a straightforward, self-explanatory graphic

[OPINION] A teacher's voice

May 05, 2018 - 9:16 PM

If the youth is the hope of our future, the kind of future that awaits us lies in the hands of the teachers. So please. Treat us better.

[OPINION] Marcos and Duterte: Strongmen’s changing playbook

Apr 30, 2018 - 1:00 PM

Threats to a free press have returned in different forms. There is no other way ahead but to stay the course.

[EDITORIAL] #AnimatED: Bakit takot sa media ang mga diktador?

Apr 30, 2018 - 9:00 AM

Kung paanong magkaiba ang katotohanan at kasinungalingan, ganoon ding magkasalungat ang demokrasya at diktadura

[OPINION] We’re not here to be your friends

Mar 10, 2018 - 8:30 AM

It's time we call out reporters who are overly chummy with government officials, who ride the wave of this administration's popularity at the cost of critical and impartial reporting and commentary

[OPINION] Duterte's zero concept of independent journalism

Feb 25, 2018 - 5:00 PM

This truly reflects the sad state of journalism in the Philippines. It shows the swath of reality that independent journalism has not yet taken root in our society.

[OPINION | Newspoint] The great sellout

Feb 24, 2018 - 2:00 PM

If we think the ultimate danger is native, Marcos-style authoritarianism, we really have not been looking. What we stand to lose this time is not just our freedom, but our sovereignty, our identity, our very soul as a nation

[OPINION] Shoot rebels in the vagina? Duterte is ‘a damaged man’

Feb 17, 2018 - 6:00 PM

Leila de Lima: ‘[Duterte’s order] is a threat against soldiers…because this is a man that would take the honor, dignity, integrity, patriotism, and professionalism of a Filipino soldier, and manipulate it to satisfy his own brutality and bloodlust.’

[OPINION] Hold the line for whom?

Feb 11, 2018 - 9:00 AM

Crossing the line is an experiment. It shows us what happens when the nation's sacred cows are shamed, and what happens when the Duterte regime raises sacred cows of their own.

SC martial law ruling 'enables rise of an emboldened authoritarian' – Leonen

Feb 10, 2018 - 6:10 PM

'The majority’s decision in this case aligns us towards the same dangerous path. It erodes this Court’s role as our society’s legal conscience,' says Supreme Court Associate Justice Marvic Leonen

MARCOS REINCARNATION. Associate Justice Marvic Leonen said the Supreme Court's majority ruling on the martial law re-extension is a reincarnation of the past rulings which were 'complicit in the suffering of our people' during the Marcos era.

NPA conflict may be used as ground for 'perpetual martial law'

Feb 10, 2018 - 3:46 PM

'This precedent dangerously suggests a perpetual violation of people's constitutional rights,' says Supreme Court Associate Justice Benjamin Caguioa in his dissenting opinion on the re-extension of martial law in Mindanao

DISSENTING OPINION. Associate Justice Benjamin Caguioa says his colleagues' decision set a dangerous precedent towarda a perpetual martial law.

Senate hearing tackles blogs vs Bong Go on warships deal

Jan 30, 2018 - 6:15 PM

Centerlaw lawyer Gilbert Andres cautions against tagging 'political opinion' as 'fake news'

FAKE NEWS? Secretary Martin Andanar in a Senate hearing on January 30, 2018 singled out social media posts by blogger Jover Laurio on the controversial frigates deal of the Philippine Navy. Screenshot of Senate livestream of the hearing

[OPINYON] Bangungot-pangkalusugan: Ang kuwento ng sabwatang Garin-Sanofi

Jan 22, 2018 - 10:00 AM

Sa Dengvaxia deal ng administrasyong Aquino at pharmaceutical giant na Sanofi, nagtagpo ang politika ng gobyernong barkadahan at ang kasakiman ng isang korporasyon

Why CA dissenters call Joel Reyes freedom 'premature, preposterous'

Jan 09, 2018 - 11:09 AM

The Gerry Ortega murder case is somehow linked to the multi-million Malampaya fund scam, over which Joel Reyes is also facing charges

PREMATURE? Court of Appeals Justice Maria Filomena Singh calls the majority decision to free former Palawan governor Joel Reyes premature.

[OPINION | Newspoint] A dangerous place

Dec 23, 2017 - 11:10 AM

The Philippines is actually one of the world's most dangerous places not just for journalists but for its very own people

‘War is over’: Majority disagree with martial law extension – SWS poll

Dec 22, 2017 - 10:30 PM

The Social Weather Stations survey also finds 66% of Filipinos believe the armed forces 'can suppress the Maute group and Abu Sayaff even without martial law'

Democracy under threat: We will shine the light, we will hold the line

Nov 03, 2017 - 11:20 AM

'Like many, I fear that the pendulum of democracy is swinging the other way globally, enabled by social media,' says Maria Ressa when she accepted the National Democracy Institute's W. Averell Harriman Democracy Award on November 2 (US time)

[OPINION] Araw ng Pinatay 2017

Nov 02, 2017 - 3:00 PM

There were significantly fewer people who trooped to the cemetery. Was it because for the past year-and-a-half, our people had seen so much death courtesy of Rodrigo Duterte’s drug war, that remembering the dead on November 1 seemed superfluous?

[OPINION] The humanities vs Dutertismo

Oct 30, 2017 - 10:00 AM

Our results-oriented education makes us forget that we go to school, especially college, not simply to learn how to do things, but to become better citizens and better people

[EDITORIAL] #AnimatED: Sorry muna, Jack Ma, internet nami'y makupad pa!

Oct 30, 2017 - 9:00 AM

Kung susuriin ang kontribusyon at impact ng internet sa pag-unlad ng mga ekonomiya at pagbuti ng kabuhayan, dapat seryosohin ng pamahalaan ang pagpapabuti nito

[EDITORIAL] #AnimatED: When Duterte is backed into a corner

Oct 09, 2017 - 10:43 AM

Now we understand why President Duterte is being a bigger bully than he ever was, seemingly intent on destroying institutions that check abuses and excesses in the executive. He is in panic.

Why the polls may be wrong

Sep 25, 2017 - 9:01 AM

Opinion polls do not reflect the processes of change that come from the everyday exchanges and discussions that are happening in a nation which is in political ferment

Martial law narrative out of context, far-fetched – Leonen

Jul 09, 2017 - 4:00 PM

There is no rebellion that justifies martial law There is terrorism that requires more thoughtful action says Supreme Court Associate Justice Marvic Leonen

Why I'm not surprised by Ahok's jail sentence

May 09, 2017 - 9:12 PM

I don’t want to argue whether his words are blasphemy or not but I don’t think it is wise for a high profile public servant or public figure to say something that he is not actually suitable to talk about

Governor of DKI Jakarta Basuki "Ahok" Tjahaja Purnama, go inside the court before the judges sentences him for 2 years in jail. Photo by Ursula Florene/Rappler

De Lima to Senate: Probe irregularities in Gordon report

Dec 13, 2016 - 5:09 PM

In her 151 page dissenting opinion Senator Leila de Lima asks President Rodrigo Duterte to create an independent commission to probe killings

The Senate Committee on Justice and Human Rights resumes on its public probe on extrajudicial killings on October 13, 2016. Photo by Joseph Vidal/PRIB

#MarcosBurial: 'Sorry I'm not sorry'

Nov 20, 2016 - 1:27 PM

A young woman s open letter to the victims of Martial Law and those who support former president Ferdinand Marcos

Presstitute Manifesto

Nov 09, 2016 - 7:30 PM

I don t use the ugliness of the internet to excuse myself from being held accountable for my statements

Where is Apple going with the AirPods?

Sep 20, 2016 - 5:54 PM

In essence Airpods are still just earphones But they re also an attempt by Apple to make inroads into an all wireless ecosystem

HANGING TOUGH. In spite of the initial criticism, will the new earphones become as ubiquitous as iPhones down the line? Photo by Josh Edelson/AFP

Can't an OFW have an opinion about the Philippines?

May 12, 2016 - 1:56 PM

Yes I have been absent but my love for the country has not diminished by an inch in a way that is difficult for me to explain

SET TO LEAD. The Philippine economy is ready for take-off and the country needs a leader who continue reforms, implement inclusive growth initiatives and inspire the nation to be united in moving forward

VIEWS: After SC verdict, why Roxas is best prepared to lead us

Mar 11, 2016 - 11:30 PM

Mar represents a safe pair of hands and can keep hope alive even in trying times

THE PRESIDENT'S CHOICE. Mar Roxas on the campaign trail. File photo by Rappler

To allow Poe's bid is 'mockery' of polls – Carpio

Mar 11, 2016 - 10:25 PM

To allow a person who is found by the Comelec not to be a natural born Filipino citizen to run for President of the Philippines constitutes a mockery of the election process says the senior associate justice

DISSENT. Supreme Court Justice Antonio Carpio says to allow a presidential candidate who was deemed not natural born Filipino by the Commission on Elections is a 'mockery' of the polls. Carpio photo by SC

My thoughts on 'leaving everything behind to travel the world'

Feb 28, 2016 - 9:06 PM

I have come to accept that leaving everything and traveling the world is not the sole way to live a well lived life It is just one of the many variations

Rappler January SMS poll: Duterte has 'most engaged' followers

Feb 18, 2016 - 1:29 PM

How much of a game changer will engaged voters be come election day?

CHOICE CANDIDATE. 2016 presidential candidate Rodrigo Duterte attends the Peasants Electoral Agenda forum at University of the Philippines in Diliman on February 3, 2016. File photo by Jansen Romero

Muslim states should fix Islam's public image: Rouhani

Dec 27, 2015 - 9:13 PM

We must remove Islam s negative image from today s cyber and real space says Iran s President Hassan Rouhani on Sunday December 27

SPEECH. Iran's President Hassan Rouhani speaks during the 69th session of the United Nations (UN) General Assembly at the UN headquarters on September 25, 2014. File photo by Justin Lane/EPA

Maria, satu-satunya hakim MK, yang tak setuju pernikahan dini

Jun 19, 2015 - 12:37 AM

Tak sependapat dengan hakim MK lainnya Maria Farida mengatakan perceraian bisa dicegah dengan mencegah pernikahan oleh pasangan di bawah umur

Hakim Konstitusi Maria Farida Indrati. Foto dari website Mahkamah Konstitusi

Should we trust surveys and opinion polls?

Apr 08, 2015 - 11:00 AM

Let politicians be more analytical about poll results lest they unwisely run for posts and lose

Slain SAF: Beware when Cordillerans don't weep

Feb 13, 2015 - 2:28 PM

How ironic that the Igorots long known as the headhunters would be the ones being beheaded In their funerals the spirits of the 14 SAF had been called to avenge their deaths

Almost half French oppose publishing Mohammed cartoons

Jan 18, 2015 - 3:53 PM

An IFOP poll finds 42 believe Mohammed cartoons – seen as offensive by many Muslims – should not be published

SOLD OUT. A person shows the front page of French satirical magazine Charlie Hebdo in front of a news stand in Lausanne, Switzerland, early 15, January 2015. Photo by Laurent Gillieron/EPA

Social media: Space for empty rants?

Dec 17, 2014 - 5:03 PM

It is time to bring back the more apt and productive debate arena where the Filipino rants less and argues more

Opinion selfie: Why we can be full of ourselves

Nov 18, 2014 - 4:00 PM

Who stands to gain when we fall in the trap of telling the world what’s on our minds too soon too fast?

#AnimatED: We choose to remember

Nov 10, 2014 - 7:30 AM

One year after Yolanda Haiyan memory is our best weapon

Tacloban addressing gaps in mental health

Nov 08, 2014 - 10:15 AM

Mental health is a big gap of the DOH It was only after Yolanda that efforts were intensified by both the national and local governments

PSYCHOSOCIAL SUPPORT. Survivors, including parents, receive counselling and other necessary psychosocial support from both the local government of Tacloban, in partnership with NGOs. Mothers and their babies staying at mother-and-child friendly tents put up by Action Against Hunger. All photos by Fritzie Rodriguez/Rappler.com

New York Times profit down, digital subscriptions up

Jul 29, 2014 - 9:54 PM

Like other media firms the Times is shifting its focus from print to digital as it strives to adapt to a decline in readership and competition from other sources of news online

DIGITAL MEDIA. Host Thomas L. Friedman speaks with Erik Brynjolfsson and Andrew McAfee of M.I.T.'s Center for Digital Business during the How The Digital Revolution Is Accelerating Everything conversation at The New York Times Global Forum with Thomas L. Friedman at the Metreon on June 20, 2013 in San Francisco, California. File photo by Neilson Barnard/Getty Images for The New York Times/AFP

Aquino's ratings drop to lowest since 2010

Jul 14, 2014 - 11:03 AM

There s a notable increase in Filipinos growing undecided over his performance especially after the Supreme Court ruling on the Disbursement Acceleration Program

LOWEST RATINGS: President Benigno Aquino III suffers his lowest ratings after the SC ruling on the Disbursement Acceleration Program. Malacañang file photo

Boring US elections

May 30, 2014 - 7:25 PM

Political mudslinging is the least of the worries of campaigning Philippine politicians