opinion - updates

Rappler's latest stories on opinion

ARTICLE FINDER

[OPINION] Collateral damage in the coronavirus pandemic

Mar 27, 2020 - 3:57 PM

'The first collateral damage in this pandemic are the other patients stricken with diseases not related to COVID-19, but are just as deserving of life-saving care'

[OPINION] Coronavirus in Baseco: A community leader's assessment

Mar 27, 2020 - 12:43 PM

How are the 16,000 households in Baseco, Manila facing looming virus outbreaks while simultaneously suffering the impact of sudden income and job losses?

[OPINION] No to frontliner-shaming!

Mar 26, 2020 - 3:07 PM

'No other job in the world leaves you wanting to do more for those in your care, sometimes at the cost of your own peace of mind'

[OPINION] Sirens, silence: The deafening, defining sounds of the coronavirus

Mar 26, 2020 - 2:00 PM

'It's harmful when one keeps silent about his or her travel history, or the truth about being exposed to a PUM/PUI.... These days, silence kills more than ever'

[OPINION] Using sociology to make sense of the coronavirus pandemic

Mar 26, 2020 - 1:35 PM

'We must begin with the kind of mind that links our personal circumstances with the public experience'

[OPINION] If you don't like being criticized so much, then do your damn job properly

Mar 25, 2020 - 2:03 PM

'There would be a lot less flak being hurled at public officials if there was a stronger perception of focused leadership from the top. Hell, ANY kind of leadership from the top.'

[ANALYSIS] Why a one-size-fits-all approach to the coronavirus could be lethal

Mar 25, 2020 - 10:19 AM

'Leaders need to be given the space to say shocking things, to be upfront about what might go wrong, to change their minds in the face of new evidence, and to pick the lesser of two evils'

MASKED. A man wears a mask while walking outside the entrance to the Yaounde General Hospital in Yaounde, Cameroon on March 6, 2020. AFP photo

[OPINION] On political divides and needing the military during the coronavirus crisis

Mar 24, 2020 - 1:51 PM

'There is always time for politics. But respect is what we need in these trying moments.'

[OPINION] 'Ano bang ambag mo?': An ethical dilemma in the middle of a pandemic

Mar 23, 2020 - 4:05 PM

'Being passive, insensitive, and ignorant has no positive contribution to this crisis'

[OPINION] The Luzon lockdown from a Filipino student's perspective

Mar 23, 2020 - 2:59 PM

'Because of the lockdown, students might only get to see their loved ones via gadgets – if they have one and if their internet connection permits'

[OPINION] Comforting the ill at ease during the coronavirus crisis

Mar 22, 2020 - 1:00 PM

'The way I respond to this crisis will surely test my competence as a physician, but more importantly, it will reflect the kind of human being I am'

[OPINION] What privilege feels like after moving to Metro Manila

Mar 21, 2020 - 12:00 PM

'Having the time to comfortably work from home because of the health crisis – and still expecting the same salary at the end of the month – is a privilege on its own'

[OPINION] Changing Filipino behavior to help fight a public health crisis

Mar 19, 2020 - 2:55 PM

'We are required to stay put in our own houses, yet a lot of us would not feel safe nor at home. Having a toxic relative is an unfortunately normal part of Filipino family life.'

[OPINION] Temporary relief for Persons Deprived of Liberty amid the coronavirus

Mar 18, 2020 - 2:23 PM

'With an overcrowding rate of 350%, the Philippines has the most congested correctional system in the world. If one of the PDLs gets infected in the congested jails, it could be a catastrophe.'

[OPINION] Thoughtless and callous: Is the coronavirus bringing out the worst in us?

Mar 18, 2020 - 1:54 PM

Lost in the moralism of these celebrities and their supporters is the state of the working class

[OPINION] The out-of-touch, elitist gaps in our lockdown

Mar 18, 2020 - 11:00 AM

'Not a lot of upper-class and middle-class Filipinos realize how good they have it in the midst of this lockdown. They forget to check their privilege, and come off as incredibly insensitive and narrow-minded.'

[OPINION] Ceasefire in the time of coronavirus

Mar 17, 2020 - 6:00 PM

'US imperialism, Chinese imperialism, the Duterte administration, and the CPP-NPA-NDFP can become tactical allies, even if strange bedfellows, against the coronavirus'

[OPINION] Paranoia, 'praning': The fate of the immunocompromised

Mar 17, 2020 - 1:55 PM

'As a kidney transplant patient, my husband has to take anti-rejection drugs. These drugs weaken my husband’s immune system.'

[OPINION] A few words of hope from an OFW amid the coronavirus pandemic

Mar 16, 2020 - 2:37 PM

'If you have OFW friends and family who are having a hard time understanding the situation, please do check on them by sending a message or calling'

[OPINION] What will happen to poor students when schools go online?

Mar 16, 2020 - 1:56 PM

After this pandemic, the gap between the rich and the poor will still remain

[OPINION] Loving your country is very different from loving your government

Mar 16, 2020 - 1:30 PM

'I love the Philippines. I love the people in it.... So I will not turn a blind eye when government incompetence makes these people suffer even more.'

[OPINION] What will we tell future generations about the coronavirus?

Mar 15, 2020 - 8:16 PM

'To young people now, this could be THE moment you will later remember most, and later tell your children about, as Martial Law was to mom and dad, or the Occupation was to grandfather and grandmother'

[OPINION] We have to support our health workers

Mar 15, 2020 - 12:10 PM

'It’s a very dangerous game we play when resiliency is our only card'

[OPINION] Notes from a supermarket on the last day of freedom

Mar 14, 2020 - 8:47 PM

'There was a part of me that wanted to stand in front of the checkout aisles and shout at all the folks nursing their loaded carts: STOP IT! STOP BEING SO SELFISH! Andaming nagugutom sa mundo!'

[OPINION] In defense of a Lenten lockdown

Mar 13, 2020 - 3:35 PM

'Our new plan has to be more aggressive now'

[OPINION] With the coronavirus crisis, it's business unusual

Mar 13, 2020 - 1:41 PM

'Allow the scare to go on long enough and only the businesses with adequate capital and little debt will be able to see the end of the tunnel'

[OPINION] The difference between small talk in Germany and in the United States

Mar 12, 2020 - 2:00 PM

Small talk is defined in the German version of Wikipedia as 'Eine beiläufige Konversation ohne Tiefgang' (a casual conversation with no depth) – with emphasis on the last two words

[OPINION] Are Filipina women special?

Mar 11, 2020 - 4:00 PM

'In Maria Ressa’s tweet was a key to progress on gender issues – the recognition that authentic empowerment of one gender cannot exist at the expense of another'

[OPINION] Dreaming on a dying planet: A letter from a young climate activist

Mar 10, 2020 - 2:13 PM

'Having clean air, water, and soil means that we can become who we have always wanted to be'

[OPINION] I was an atheist, then a Christian, and now an agnostic

Mar 08, 2020 - 3:00 PM

'No matter which side you're on, it's wrong to make people feel unsafe for believing in the things they do, or feel that they are lesser than you for not believing in what you believe'

[OPINION] Do you believe in 'quiet activism?'

Mar 05, 2020 - 4:41 PM

'I realized that activism does not always need to be performed publicly, that some kinds of activism are not obvious'

[PODCAST] I've Got An Opinion: I'm married, but I don't want children

Mar 04, 2020 - 8:00 PM

How does our podcast guest fend off all the nosy titas looking for a baby bump?

[OPINION] The real hostage situation

Mar 04, 2020 - 4:11 PM

'On troll-ridden social media, I expected the security guard to be crucified. But instead, I saw comments not only sympathetic, but even empathetic, to the man'

[OPINION] The problem with 'pointing out bias' and 'demanding objectivity'

Mar 04, 2020 - 2:03 PM

Have you ever been told to 'be objective,' or that you're 'too biased in your political views'?

[OPINION] A life of surrender: Living with interstitial lung disease

Mar 03, 2020 - 3:07 PM

'I am mentally and emotionally driven to keep going after small and big wins'

[OPINION] A few possible benefits of the coronavirus outbreak

Feb 28, 2020 - 1:10 PM

'I realized that online learning is not exactly a worst case scenario'

[OPINION] Activism is not a waste of time

Feb 25, 2020 - 8:30 PM

'Yes, the road to freedom will be filled with inconveniences and sacrifices, but the rewards that lie ahead are still worth fighting for'

[OPINION] A tribute to our silent heroes

Feb 25, 2020 - 12:47 PM

'They are the ones who remain when others leave us. They are the ones who offer consolation when the world rejects us.'

[OPINION] The most common misconceptions about EDSA People Power

Feb 24, 2020 - 3:24 PM

The People Power Revolution was neither peaceful nor bloodless

[OPINION] Lawfare and warfare: The blitz against Senator Leila de Lima

Feb 24, 2020 - 2:25 PM

'Three years in jail have not broken Senator Leila. Ten more years won’t break her.'

COVID-19: Tips for a saner digital diet in these viral times

Feb 22, 2020 - 2:00 PM

'Now's the best time to give ourselves an immunity shot to avoid succumbing to misinformation, malice, and meanness'

[PODCAST] I've Got An Opinion: It's okay to have more than one lover

Feb 19, 2020 - 8:00 PM

We speak with a couple that practices polyamory. How complex is their arrangement? Does jealousy rear its ugly head?

[OPINION] When you're a parent of a med student during the coronavirus outbreak

Feb 10, 2020 - 2:07 PM

'As her mother, I will still continue to worry and fear for her safety, but I will also stand tall knowing my daughter is doing something right and kind and humane'

[OPINION] Why we fear: Risk, society, and the coronavirus

Feb 07, 2020 - 2:15 PM

'Even the lowest village leader knows that a fearful public is political tinder'

[OPINION] #CourageOn: A daughter gives her kidney to her father

Feb 07, 2020 - 1:36 PM

His melancholic voice woke me in the middle of my deep sleep. 'Inday, pwede ba naku pangayuon imung kidney? (May I ask for your other kidney?)'

[OPINION] D'OH! The sick act of politicizing our health

Feb 06, 2020 - 1:23 PM

'This repetitive arrogance and ignorance from our officials shows us that the government doesn’t seem to have a stance on or plan for the wellbeing of the nation'

[PODCAST] I've Got An Opinion: Capitalism is killing the earth

Feb 05, 2020 - 8:09 PM

Are metal straws and tumblers doing more harm than good? Find out what our latest podcast guest has to say!

[OPINION] The mask I wore when xenophobia spread faster than the coronavirus

Feb 04, 2020 - 4:00 PM

'As someone who has often been mistaken for Chinese, I knew that I had to be prepared, not just for the coronavirus, but for the xenophobia and racism that came with it'

[OPINION] His ordeal is ours too: Thoughts on my father's cancer

Feb 04, 2020 - 1:40 PM

'When the first doctor told us that he had 6 months to live, we wouldn’t hear of it.... We never wasted time and sought all possible means for our father to survive.'

[OPINION] Filipinos, disease, and fear

Feb 03, 2020 - 1:06 PM

'Imagine Filipinos who barely know how governments work trying to understand how an international health emergency would affect them'