HIGHLIGHTS: Blood moon, April 4,2015

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATED) – A brief total eclipse of the Moon, also called a "blood moon," was visible in North America, Australia, and East Asia on Saturday, April 4.

The phenomenon occurs when the Sun, Earth and Moon are lined up so that the Moon passes through the Earth's shadow.

Sky and Telescope magazine described the eclipse as "unusually brief." The first shadows were visible at 0935 GMT (5:35 pm Manila time), and the total eclipse began at 1134 GMT (7:34 pm Manila time).

The Moon was completely blocked for just about 12 minutes before dawn on Saturday, April 4 for those in North America, according to the US Naval Observatory.

Weather conditions permitting, the eclipse was seen on the evening of April 4 for those in Australia and Asia.

People in Hawaii and New Zealand saw the eclipse after nightfall, high in the sky.

The April 4 event marks the third of four total lunar eclipses in 2014 and 2015, each about 6 months apart.

The last lunar eclipse was on October 8. The next lunar eclipse will happen September 27.

You can watch the eclipse again here on Rappler, via video courtesy of the Slooh Community Observatory. – With a report from Agence France-Presse/Rappler.com