Kiefer Ravena repeats as UAAP MVP

Naveen Ganglani
Kiefer Ravena repeats as UAAP MVP
The Ateneo Blue Eagles star holds off UST veteran Kevin Ferrer to become MVP of UAAP Season 78

MANILA, Philippines – Ateneo Blue Eagles superstar Kiefer Ravena will end his prolific collegiate career with back-to-back UAAP MVP awards, it was made official on Wednesday, November 18.

Ravena finished with 69.5 statistical points, edging out UST Growling Tigers 5th-year man Kevin Ferrer, who came in second with 67.36 statistical points.

NU big man Alfred Aroga was third with 63.29 statistical points, while Jeron Teng of DLSU (60.79) and Ed Daquioag of UST (60.57) came in fourth and fifth, respectively.

Pape Sarr of Adamson (58.29), Karim Abdul of UST (57.43), Gelo Alolino of NU (55.71), Mac Belo of FEU (54.29), and Mike Tolomia of FEU (50.29) round up the top 10.

Ravena, nicknamed as “The Phenom,” averaged 18.2 points, 6.1 rebounds, 4.9 assists, and 1.2 steals a game in the UAAP Season 78 elimination round as he led his Blue Eagles to a 9-5 record.

By winning back-to-back MVPs, Ravena joins an exclusive list of former UAAP players to accomplish the same feat: Bobby Ray Parks, Arwind Santos, Rich Alvarez, Don Allado, Mark Telan, Dennis Espino, Jun Limpot, and Allan Caidic.

Ateneo finished with the number 3 seed and will face number two, the twice-to-beat FEU Tamaraws, in the Final Four round. –

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.