DLSU’s Andrei Caracut to win UAAP Rookie of the Year

Naveen Ganglani
DLSU’s Andrei Caracut to win UAAP Rookie of the Year

Josh Albelda

The Green Archer just barely holds off UST’s Marvin Lee

MANILA, Philippines – De La Salle University guard Andrei Caracut is set to win the 2015 UAAP senior’s basketball Rookie of the Year award after compiling 31.67 statistical points, good for 29th overall in the league and top among true freshmen.

Caracut, a product of San Beda high school, was impressive in his first UAAP season by averaging 9.2 points, 2.8 rebounds, and 2.1 assists a game. His total SPs ranked fifth overall among DLSU’s players, trailing only Jeron Teng, Prince Rivero, Jason Perkins, and Thomas Torres.

With Caracut winning Rookie of the Year, it becomes the second straight season a former San Beda high school player takes home the award. In 2014, Ateneo’s Arvin Tolentino was named the best freshman of the UAAP.

Caracut also becomes the first La Salle player to win the award since Jeron Teng won Rookie of the Year in 2012.

The long-range specialist also becomes just the seventh DLSU player to win the award since 1993, joining a list that includes Teng, JVee Casio (2003), Mac Cardona (2001), Mike Cortez (2000), Ren-ren Ritualo (1997), and Mark Telan (1993). 

UST guard Marvin Lee came in second in the Rookie of the Year race, finishing with 31.43 SPs – good for 30th overall in the UAAP. 

Lee played a major role in UST’s first-place finish after the elimination round, where they topped the UAAP with an 11-3 record. Lee finished with averages of 6.2 points, 2.9 rebounds, and 1.1 steals a game while shooting 38% from the 3-point area.

Ateneo’s Matt Nieto was 35th overall in the SPs tally with 30.38, while Adamson’s Frederick Tungcab came in 40th after compiling 27.79. – Rappler.com

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.