La Salle reclaims UAAP title after defeating Ateneo

Naveen Ganglani
La Salle reclaims UAAP title after defeating Ateneo
After dropping the first set, the Lady Spikers take control the rest of the way to seal the championship against the Lady Eagles in Game 3

MANILA, Philippines (2nd UPDATE) – The crown is back in Taft.

The De La Salle University Lady Spikers climbed back to the mountain top of UAAP volleyball after defeating the Ateneo Lady Eagles in 4 sets in Game 3, 19-25, 25-21, 25-16, 25-16, in the Season 78 women’s volleyball tournament on Saturday, April 30, at the Smart-Araneta Coliseum.

(IN PHOTOS: Smiles, tears as La Salle wins UAAP volleyball title)

After losing to Ateneo in each of the past two UAAP Finals, La Salle finally attained revenge against its rival in their fifth consecutive championship series.

Led by superb blocking and a balanced scoring outputs from their main core, the Lady Spikers won their ninth UAAP championship in front of an attendance of 22,848.

Kim Dy, who was named Finals MVP, scored 17 points to lead La Salle which capitalized on 33 Ateneo errors.

Mary Joy Baron added 11 points in the win while graduating players Mika Reyes, Cyd Demecillo, and Ara Galang scored 9 each.

(SEE: Netizens pay tribute to graduating stars after La Salle-Ateneo UAAP Finals)

On the other end, Alyssa Valdez led the Lady Eagles with 31 points. –

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.