National University cleans up at Cheerleading Championships

Danielle Nakpil

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

National University cleans up at Cheerleading Championships
NU's dominance is not only limited to cheerdance as the NU Pep Squad picks up numerous individual awards in cheerleading

MANILA, Philippines – They continue to reign not only in the UAAP Cheerdance stage but also on the cheerleading scene. For over 4 years now, the National University has been dominating the cheerleading division of the National Cheerleading Championship, a streak that continued on Friday, August 12. 

Aside from being hailed the champion in the college division, the NU Pep Squad also won 5 individual awards out of 8 including the Coach of the Year and the Cheerleader of the Year Awards in the Cheerleading category of this year’s Season 11 of the NCC.

The Best Male Tumbler is Meynard Dayaday, while the Best Female Tumbler Award was clinched by Strawberry Amistoso. The Cheer Scholar Award went to Vanessa Olea. Mary Ann Calleja claimed the Cheerleader of the Year trophy while NU Pep Squad Coach Ghicka Bernabe is the College Coach of the Year. 

“I cannot do this on my own but with my fellow coaches and my entire team even the management,” said Bernabe in her acceptance speech Friday, August 12. 

“They believe that my team is very strong. You bet we are,” she added.

The Bulldogs also won the Group Stunts All-Girls competition.

Salamat sa coaches ko. Salamat dahil binigyan niyo ako ng chance para ipakita kung anong kaya ko,” said Cheerleader of the Year Calleja. (Thank you to my coaches. Thank you because you gave me the chance to showcase what I can do.)

The champion team just gets stronger as they attempt at the title yet again in Season 12. –

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI