Fajardo becomes first PBA player to win 3 straight MVPs

Naveen Ganglani
Fajardo becomes first PBA player to win 3 straight MVPs
Fajardo continues to climb up the PBA record books by winning a third MVP award

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATED) – He just continues to climb up the record books.

June Mar Fajardo, the San Miguel Beermen’s superstar big man, became the first player in Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) history to win 3 consecutive Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the Year awards on Friday, October 14, during the league’s 2016 Leo Awards at the Smart-Araneta Coliseum.

The 26-year-old from the University of Cebu averaged a career-high 19.7 points a game this season to go with 12.2 rebounds, 1.3 assists, and 1.4 blocks, per pba-online.net. Fajardo was also named to the league’s Mythical First Team for the third straight year and won the Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award.

By winning his third MVP award, Fajardo tied PBA legend Bogs Adornado for second most in league history, just behind Ramon Fernandez and Alvin Patrimonio who have 4 each.

Joining Fajardo in the First Mythical Team were teammate Arwind Santos, Jayson Castro, Terrence Romeo, and Calvin Abueva.

Alex Cabagnot, LA Tenorio, Japeth Aguilar, Asi Taulava, and Sean Anthony made up the Second Mythical Team, while Marc Pingris, Aguilar, Gabe Norwood, Chris Ross, and Ping Exciminiano composed the All-Defensive Team. – Rappler.com

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.