June Mar Fajardo wins historic 4th straight MVP award

Delfin Dioquino
June Mar Fajardo wins historic 4th straight MVP award
June Mar Fajardo joins his San Miguel teammates Chris Ross, Alex Cabagnot and Arwind Santos in the First Mythical Team

MANILA, Philippines – San Miguel’s June Mar Fajardo made history Friday, October 20, bagging his fourth straight Most Valuable Player award and besting Beermen teammates Chris Ross and Alex Cabagnot. 

Fajardo, who finished with 2886 points, was also named to the First Mythical Team together with teammates Ross, Cabagnot and Arwind Santos and Barangay Ginebra’s Japeth Aguilar.

The 27-year-old Cebuano joined an elite club with Ramon Fernandez and Alvin Patrimonio as the lone players in the 42-year-old league to win the MVP award 4 times. But Fajardo will be the first to win the coveted plum in consecutive seasons. 

The Kraken also shone defensively as he joined Ross, Aguilar, Rain or Shine Elastopainters’ Gabe Norwood and Star Hotshots’ Jio Jalalon in the All-Defensive Team. 

TNT KaTropa’s Jayson Castro and Kelly Williams, Ginebra’s LA Tenorio and Joe Devance, Meralco Bolts’ Cliff Hodge were named to the Second Mythical Team. 

Roger Pogoy of the KaTropa nabbed the Rookie of the Year honors, edging Jalalon, Ginebra’s Kevin Ferrer and Phoenix Fuel Masters’ Matthew Wright.

Rain or Shine’s Gabe Norwood clinched the Sportsmanship Awardee while Ross took home the Most Improved Player award. – Rappler.com

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.


Delfin Dioquino

Delfin Dioquino dreamt of being a PBA player, but he did not have the skills to make it. So he pursued the next best thing to being an athlete – to write about them. He took up journalism at the University of Santo Tomas and joined Rappler as soon as he graduated in 2017.