IN PHOTOS: Meet the 2018 Philippine Sportswriters Association awardees

Beatrice Go
IN PHOTOS: Meet the 2018 Philippine Sportswriters Association awardees
Scribes honor the best and brightest athletes and sports leaders of the Philippines


MANILA, Philippines – Athletes of the Year Krizziah Tabora, Jerwin Ancajas and Carlo Biado bannered the 2018 Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) Annual Awards held on Tuesday, February 27 at the Manila Hotel. 

As our national athletes and sportswriters bedazzled everyone in their formal coats and gowns instead of their usual sports attires, a few were called up to be recognized on stage for the main and major awards. 

Main Awards

PSA-Tapa King Athlete of Year: Krizziah Tabora (Bowling), Jerwin Ancajas (Boxing) and Carlo Biado (Billiards) 

BOWLING. Krizziah Tabora is awarded the Athlete of the Year for being the 5th Filipino to earn a BWC title. Photo by Beatrice Go/Rappler

(READ: Krizziah Lyn Tabora wins Bowling World Cup after 14-year title drought)

BOXING. Jerwin Ancajas defended his IBF junior bantamweight title. Photo by Beatrice Go/Rappler

(READ: Before becoming champion, Jerwin Ancajas fought poverty and hunger)

BILLIARDS. Carlo Biado is the first Filipino to win the World 9-Ball Championship since Francisco Bustamante in 2010. Photo by Beatrice Go/Rappler

(READ: Carlo Biado defeats Roland Garcia in all-Filipino final, wins 2017 World 9-Ball Championship)

President’s Award: Manuel V. Pangilinan

FIBA 2023. Al Panlilio of Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas and Manny V. Pangilinan win the President's award for bringing in the 2023 FIBA World Cup to the Philippines. Photo by Beatrice Go/Rappler

Chooks-to-Go Mr. Fan Favorite: Terrence Romeo




Executive of the Year: Ramon S. Ang and Ernesto Echauz

BASKETBALL. Junemar Fajardo and Leo Austria come up the stage in place of Ramon S. Ang. Photo by Beatrice Go/Rappler

NSA of the Year: Triathlon Association of the Philippines 

MEDAL SPORT. The Triathlon Association of the Philippines' athletes continuously bring home medals for the country. Photo by Beatrice Go/Rappler

Mighty Sports Mr. Basketball: Junemar Fajardo

THE KRAKEN. Junemar Fajardo is the PBA's 4-time MVP. Photo by Beatrice Go/Rappler

(READ: June Mar Fajardo wins historic 4th straight MVP award)

Ms. Volleyball: Dawn Macandili 

MS. EVERYWHERE. Dawn Macandili will take charge of floor defense propelling her teams DLSU Lady Spikers and F2 Logistics to championships and even earning the second best libero award in the Asian Volleyball Championships. Photo by Beatrice Go/Rappler

(READ: Dawn Macandili named second best libero in Asian Seniors tilt)

Mr. Volleyball: Marck Espejo

KING EAGLE. Marck Espejo still has one more year to continue his MVP run for the 5th straight time. Photo by Beatrice Go/Rappler

Major Awards 

Major award for Pro Basketball: Leo Austria




Jockey of the Year: John Alvin Guce

Horse of the Year: “Sepfourteen” 

HORSE RACING. Alvin Guce is awarded with horse owner of Sepfourteen. Photo by Beatrice Go/Rappler

Marathon: Mary Joy Tabal

OLYMPIAN. Mary Joy Tabal is an Olympian and a Southeast Asain Games gold medalist in women's marathon. Photo by Beatrice Go/Rappler

(READ: Full profile of Mary Joy Tabal)

Motorcycle racing: Masato Fernando 

THE CHAIRMAN. Masato Fernando is the 3-peat champion of the Super Underbone race. Photo by Beatrice Go/Rappler

Softball: Team Manila Softball

JUNIORS. Team Manila Softball were crowned the Pony International 18-U Girls Softball World Series champion. Photo by Beatrice Go/Rappler

Collegiate Basketball: Thirdy Ravena

FINALS MVP. Thirdy Ravena helped the Ateneo Blue Eagles to their first championship in 5 years. Photo by Beatrice Go/Rappler

(WATCH: Rappler Talk Sports: UAAP S80 men’s basketball champions Ateneo Blue Eagles)

Augusto “Gus” Villanueva was not present to receive his Lifetime Achievement Award which is part of the main awards. He was awarded for being the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal Group of Publications and was notably the former PSA President. 

SEA Games Athletics gold medalists Eric Cray and Trenten Beram were also not present in the awards night. –


Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.


Beatrice Go

More commonly known as Bee, Beatrice Go is a multimedia sports reporter for Rappler, who covers Philippine sports governance, national teams, football, and the UAAP. Stay tuned for her news and features on Philippine sports and videos like the Rappler Athlete’s Corner and Rappler Sports Timeout.