Milo Marathon champions to represent PH in 2019 SEA Games

JR Isaga

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

Milo Marathon champions to represent PH in 2019 SEA Games


Laoag hosts the 42nd edition where the winners will get more than just cash rewards

MANILA, Philippines – The champion gets to represent the Philippines in the regional games.

The 42nd National Milo Marathon will culminate on December 9 in Laoag, Ilocos Norte, with the winner having the distinction to represent the Philippines in the 2019 Southeast Asian Games.

Basta kung sino ang manalo [sa Milo Marathon], ‘yun ang kukunin namin sa Southeast Asian Games,” Philippine Athletics Track and Field Association (PATAFA) president Philip Juico said in a press conference on Thursday, June 7, in Pasay City.

(Whoever wins the Milo Marathon, that’s who we’ll get in the Southeast Asian Games.)

Aside from a  stint in the SEA Games, which the Philippines will host next year,  the marathon King and Queen will also receive cash prizes. 

Cebu native Mary Joy Tabal has been the women’s champion for a record 5 consecutive years, the last turning out to be heart-wrenching as it came less than a day after her father tragically succumbed to a heart attack. (READ: Mary Joy Tabal completes historic Milo 5-peat in her toughest race ever)

In the men’s side, Joerge Andrade of Davao pulled off as a surprise and ruled for the first time last year.

Milo sports executive Lester Castillo cited the reason Laoag has been chosen to host the Finals leg of the grueling 42-kilometer race.

“One of the reasons why we’re holding the national finals in Laoag this year is because it’s the bicentennial year celebration of Laoag City,” Castillo said. “Together with that, there’s a lot of festivities that would happen there.”

The race schedule:

July 15 – Urdaneta City, Pangasinan

July 29 – Metro Manila (eliminations)

Aug. 26 – Tarlac City, Tarlac

Sept. 16 – Batangas City, Batangas

Sept. 30 – Lucena City, Quezon

Oct. 7 – Iloilo City, Iloilo

Oct. 14 – Cebu City, Cebu

Oct. 21 – General Santos City, South Cotabato

Nov. 11 – Butuan City, Agusan del Norte

Nov. 18 – Cagayan de Oro City, Misamis Oriental

Dec. 9 – Laoag City, Ilocos Norte (Finals)


Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI