San Beda outlasts Perez-less Lyceum in NCAA Finals G1

JR Isaga
(UPDATED) The San Beda Red Lions can wrap up their 5th title three-peat in Game 2, but then they have to contend with the Lyceum Pirates returning top gun CJ Perez

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATED) – With the Lyceum Pirates missing their main star CJ Perez to suspension, the San Beda Red Lions scored first blood in the NCAA Season 94 men’s basketball Finals off a 73-60 rout at the Mall of Asia Arena on Tuesday, November 6.

The famed Red Lions dynasty is now one win away from its 5th title three-peat in school history. Meanwhile, the Pirates can still save themselves from a second-straight Finals sweep once Perez returns for Game 2.

San Beda took advantage of Perez’s absence early on in the ball game, clinching a 20-point lead, 31-11, off back-to-back threes by Clint Doliguez.

Lyceum made small runs here and there but the fully-loaded Red Lions were just too much for them.

Calvin Oftana punctuated a 7-0 run at the beginning of the 4th to go up 27, 66-39.

Lyceum’s 60-point output is its lowest production for the season so far, edging their 68-point effort in the regular season, also in a loss against San Beda.

Jaycee Marcelino of Lyceum cut the lead to 10, 60-70, with just 1:11 left. But San Beda’s Jo Presbitero silenced that final run with a dagger three, 73-60, 16 ticks remaining.

Javee Mocon led the balanced Bedan charge with 14 points and 10 rebounds for the double-double. Robert Bolick followed up with 12 markers and 9 assists while Clint Doliguez led the Red Lion bench with 11 points.

Mike Nzeusseu paced the Lyceum comeback effort with 16 points and 14 boards. Twins Jaycee and Jayvee Marcelino chipped in identical 13-point performances and combined for 6 assists and 4 steals while MJ Ayaay contributed 9 markers and 8 boards.

The Scores:

San Beda 73 – Mocon 14, Bolick 12, Doliguez 11, Tankoua 10, Cabanag 8, Canlas 6, Oftana 4, Presbitero 3, Nelle 3, Cuntapay 2, Soberano 0, Abuda 0, Eugene 0, Tongco 0, Carino 0.

Lyceum 60 – Nzeusseu 16, Marcelino JC 13, Marcelino JV 13, Ayaay 9, Caduyac 5, Valdez 2, Yong 2, Ibanez 0, Pretta 0, Santos 0, Tansingco 0, Serrano 0, Lumbao 0.

Quarters: 19-9, 43-22, 59-39, 73-60. –