Asiad gold winners lead PSA Awards nominees
Asiad gold winners lead PSA Awards nominees
The all-female Asian Games gold medalists emerge as the top bets for Athlete of the Year in the Philippine Sportswriters Association Annual Awards in February



MANILA, Phillippines – It’s the season once more when the best of Philippine sports will be honored as the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) is set to recognize the top achievers of 2018 during its Annual Awards Night next month.

The traditional gala will be held on February 26 at the Manila Hotel, with the handing out of the Athlete of the Year award serving as the highlight of the affair.

The PSA Board led by president Dodo Catacutan of already deliberated on several nominees for the group’s top honor and other various awards to be given out on this night of remembering and celebration.

The 4 gold medal winners in the Indonesia Asian Games emerged as the top bets for the Athlete of the Year award. They are weightlifter Hidilyn Diaz, skateboarder Margielyn Didal, and the golfing trio of Yuka Saso, Bianca Pagdanganan, and Lois Kaye Go.

The 4 gold medals the young Filipinas won were the most for the country since bagging the same number of golds during the 2006 edition of the Asiad in Doha, Qatar.

Last year, world champions Jerwin Ancajas (boxing), Krizziah Lyn Tabora (bowling), and Carlo Biado (billiards) were the recipients of the PSA Athlete of the Year plum.

Composed of editors, sportswriters, and columnists from print (broadsheet and tabloid), and online media, the PSA will also be naming its regular President’s Award, Executive of the Year, National Sports Association (NSA) of the Year, and Lifetime Achievement Award.

Also to be named are awardees as Mr Basketball, Mr and Ms Volleyball, and Mr Football.

The country’s sports fraternity, the oldest media group in the Philippines first established in 1949, will likewise be giving away Major Awards and Citations in various sports, the Tony Siddayao Awards and the Milo Junior Athletes of the Year, both being given to young top achievers.

Also to be recognized with a posthumous honor are athletes, officials, and other personalities who passed away in 2018. –


Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.