Ravena, Bolick headline All-Collegiate Team

Ravena, Bolick headline All-Collegiate Team
This season’s top 5 collegiate basketball players come from 4 different schools




MANILA, Philippines – Four different schools will be represented in this year’s All-Collegiate Team.

Robert Bolick of NCAA three-peat titlist San Beda and Thirdy Ravena of UAAP back-to-back champion Ateneo are the headliners of the Mythical Five in the 2019 Chooks-to-Go Collegiate Awards presented by SportsVision on Monday, May 27, at Amelie Hotel Manila in Malate.

Bolick ended his collegiate career with a bang, averaging 16.8 points on a 49.1% shooting clip, 5.4 rebounds, and 4.8 assists in the Red Lions’ 20-1 romp through the 94th Season of the NCAA. That included a 50-point outburst against Arellano in the elimination round – one of the highest individual marks in the history of the Grand Old League.

Ravena, meanwhile, posted norms of 14.9 points, 3.1 rebounds, 1.2 steals, and 1.0 blocks as the Blue Eagles’ dominated UAAP Season 81 with an overall 15-2 record. He saved his best for last when he imposed his will on University of the Philippines en route to being hailed as Finals MVP.

Completing this year’s All-Collegiate Team are NCAA 94 MVP Prince Eze of Perpetual Help and the UP pair of Bright Akhuetie and Paul Desiderio.

Eze put the Altas on his back all season long as they barged back into the playoffs. Akhuetie’s own MVP campaign as well as Desiderio’s heroics were also more than enough to bring the Fighting Maroons to their first Final Four since 1997 and first Finals in 32 years.

All 5 players – selected by the Collegiate Press Corps made up of scribes from print and online outfits covering the NCAA and UAAP – will be honored in the annual event also supported by Amelie Hotel Manila, Rain or Shine, NorthPort, World Balance, Arellano, and AXA Team EDS.

They will be alongside fellow awardees in NU Lady Bulldogs who will receive the Award of Excellence, Ateneo’s Ange Kouame and San Beda’s Javee Mocon who will receive Pivotal Player plums, Adamson’s Sean Manganti and Lyceum’s CJ Perez who will receive Impact Player citations, Red Lions’ mentor Boyet Fernandez and Blue Eagles’ tactician Tab Baldwin who will be recognized as Coaches of the Year, and UST’s Sisi Rondina and Arellano’s Regine Arocha who will make history as the first-ever SportsVision Volleyball Players of the Year.

The 2019 Chooks-to-Go Collegiate Press Corps Awards presented by SportsVision will be aired live over Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas and Tiebreaker Times on Facebook. – Rappler.com


Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.