Palicte surprised by ref stoppage in world title loss to Ioka

Delfin Dioquino
Palicte surprised by ref stoppage in world title loss to Ioka
The defeat marks the second time Aston Palicte fell short of his bid to become a world champion

MANILA, Philippines – Aston Palicte felt the referee should not have stopped the bout that resulted in his technical knockout loss to Kazuto Ioka for the vacant World Boxing Organization super flyweight crown.

The Filipino failed to capture his first world title on Wednesday, June 19, after referee Kenny Chevalier stepped in with 1:14 minutes left in the 10th round as he took a beating from his Japanese counterpart.

Rocked by right to the head, Palicte sustained more damage when Ioka unleashed a barrage of head shots before the fight was halted.


 

“It’s okay, that’s just how it is in boxing,” Palicte said in Filipino. “I was just surprised that the referee stopped the fight when only two punches landed.”

“It should not have been that fast.”

“It would have been okay if he was landing punches and I wasn’t moving anymore,” Palicte added.

The loss marks the second time the pride of Bago City fell short of his bid to become a world champion – the first coming in a split draw to compatriot Donnie Nietes in September for the same WBO belt.

He is headed back to the drawing board to plot his next move.

“I still don’t know,” Palicte said regarding his future. “I’ll rest first.” – Rappler.com

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

author

Delfin Dioquino

Delfin Dioquino dreamt of being a PBA player, but he did not have the skills to make it. So he pursued the next best thing to being an athlete – to write about them. He took up journalism at the University of Santo Tomas and joined Rappler as soon as he graduated in 2017.