Filipino ref officiates anew as France eliminates USA

Delfin Dioquino
Filipino ref officiates anew as France eliminates USA
Bong Pascual calls the game in another USA match in the FIBA World Cup

MANILA, Philippines – Veteran Filipino referee Bong Pascual once again officiated a USA game in the FIBA World Cup, but this time, the two-time defending champion did not end up with a win.

In fact, USA was showed the door and saw its bid of becoming the first team in history to win 3 straight world titles crushed after a stunning 79-89 quarterfinals loss to France in Dongguan, China on Wednesday, September 11. 

Bong Pascual. Screengrab from ESPN5

 France will face Argentina in the semifinals, while USA was relegated to the classification round and will tangle with Serbia. 

Bong Pascual. Screengrab from ESPN5

 

Officiating in the 2014 World Cup and the 2016 Summer Olympics, the 49-year-old Pascual was among the 56 referees selected in this edition of the world championships.

He worked USA’s games against Turkey and Greece earlier in the tournament. – Rappler.com

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Delfin Dioquino

Delfin Dioquino dreamt of being a PBA player, but he did not have the skills to make it. So he pursued the next best thing to being an athlete – to write about them. He took up journalism at the University of Santo Tomas and joined Rappler as soon as he graduated in 2017.