Columbian nabs Isaac Go as No. 1 pick in PBA Draft 2019

Delfin Dioquino

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

Columbian nabs Isaac Go as No. 1 pick in PBA Draft 2019
Columbian, though, will have to wait before actually seeing Isaac Go play as the first 5 picks are loaned to Gilas Pilipinas

MANILA, Philippines – Columbian beefed up its frontline by selecting big man Isaac Go as the No. 1 overall pick in the 2019 PBA Rookie Draft at Robinsons Place Manila in Ermita on Sunday, December 8.

The 6-foot-7 Go became the first player from Ateneo to get drafted first in the PBA since Greg Slaughter was picked No. 1 by Barangay Ginebra in 2013.

Columbian, though, will have to wait before actually seeing Go play after the PBA and the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas agreed to have the first 5 picks loaned to the national team for the 2023 FIBA World Cup. 

Blackwater picked UE’s Rey Suerte at No. 2, NLEX selected Ateneo’s Matt Nieto at No. 3, Alaska nabbed San Sebastian’s Allyn Bulanadi at No. 4, while Rain or Sine selected Ateneo’s Mike Nieto at No. 5. 

With the draft order resetting after the special Gilas Pilipinas draft, Columbian picked Filipino-American Roosevelt Adams at No. 1in the regular draft, providing CJ Perez with a gutsy running mate. 

Adams, a product of College of Idaho, played for Mighty Sports in several international tournaments and suited up for Go for Gold in the PBA D-League. 

Maurice Shaw, another Filipino-American, got his name called early as the No. 2 pick by Blackwater, while Mike Ayonayon from Philippine Christian University landed at No. 3 with NLEX. 

Completing the top 5 in the regular draft are FEU’s Barkley Eboña as the No. 4 pick by Alaska and Ateneo’s Adrian Wong as the No. 5 selection by Rain or Shine. 

San Beda’s Clint Doliguez and La Salle’s Prince Rivero were picked No. 6 and No. 7, respectively, by Rain or Shine, Adamson’s Sean Manganti joined NorthPort at No. 8, while St. Clare’s Aris Dionisio landed at No. 9 with Magnolia. 

Crowd favorite Barangay Ginebra used the No. 10 pick to get FEU’s Arvin Tolentino as TNT and Columbian acquired La Salle’s Kib Montalbo and Letran’s Christian Balagasay at No. 11 and No. 12, respectively. 

Suprisingly dropping in the second round was Letran’s Jerrick Balanza, who was picked by Barangay Ginebra at No. 13, 

One half of Lyceum’s Marcelino twins, Jaycee, landed at No. 17 with Alaska, while Ateneo’s Aaron Black got picked by Meralco at No. 18 as he joins father Norman Black, who serves as head coach of the team. 

Forty-five out of the 67 rookie aspirants were drafted with all 12 teams passing in the sixth round. 

Here is the complete draft order: 

Gilas Pilipinas special draft

1. Columbian – Isaac Go (Ateneo)

2. Blackwater – Rey Suerte (UE)

3. NLEX – Matt Nieto (Ateneo)

4. Alaska – Allyn Bulanadi (San Sebastian) 

5. Rain or Shine – Mike Nieto (Ateneo)

Regular draft

First round 

1. Columbian – Roosevelt Adams (College of Idaho)

2. Blackwater – Maurice Shaw (Hutchinson)

3. NLEX – Mike Ayonayon (PCU)

4. Alaska – Barkley Ebona (FEU

5. Rain or Shine – Adrian Wong (Ateneo)

6. Rain or Shine – Clint Doliguez (San Beda)

7. Rain or Shine – Prince Rivero (La Salle)

8. NorthPort – Sean Manganti (Adamson)

9. Magnolia – Aris Dionisio (St. Clare)

10. Barangay Ginebra – Arvin Tolentino (FEU)

11. TNT – Kib Montalbo (La Salle)

12. Columbian – Christian Balagasay (Letran)

Second round:

13. Barangay Ginebra – Jerrick Balanza (Letran)

14. Blackwater – Richard Escoto (FEU)

15. NLEX – Will McAloney (EAC)

16. Alaska – Rey Publico (Letran)

17. Alaska – Jaycee Marcelino (Lyceum)

18. Meralco – Aaron Black (Ateneo)

19. Rain or Shine – Vince Tolentino (Ateneo)

20. NLEX – AC Soberano (San Beda)

21. Magnolia – Yankie Haruna (St. Benilde)

22. Barangay Ginebra – Kent Salado (Arellano)

23. Rain or Shine – Wendell Comboy (FEU)

24. NorthPort – Renzo Subido (UST)

Third round:

25. Columbian – Bonbon Batiller (Letran)

26. Blackwater – Chris Bitoon (MLQU)

27. NLEX – Gelo Vito (UP)

28. Phoenix – Toci Tansingco (Lyceum)

29. Meralco – Michael Canete (Arellano)

30. Rain or Shine – Luke Parcero (AMA)

31. NorthPort – Cris Dumapig (CEU)

32. Magnolia – Alvin Capobres (San Sebastian)

33. Barangay Ginebra – Fran Asuncion (AMA)

34. TNT – Simon Camacho (Adamson)

35. SMB – Travis Thompson (University of Alaska)

Fourth Round:

36. Columbian – Marco Balagtas (JRU)

37. Blackwater – Hubert Cani (FEU)

38. NLEX – Jayvee Marcelino (Lyceum)

39. Phoenix – Spencer Pretta (Lyceum)

40. NorthPort – Dexter Zamora (Lyceum)

41. TNT – Valandre Chauca (Adamson)

42. San Miguel – Daniel de Guzman (Lyceum)

Fifth Round:

43. NLEX – Jeramer Cabanag (San Beda)

44. Phoenix – Jeff Santos (Lyceum)

45. San Miguel – Von Tambeling (PCU)

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!
Person, Human, Clothing


Delfin Dioquino

Delfin Dioquino dreamt of being a PBA player, but he did not have the skills to make it. So he pursued the next best thing to being an athlete – to write about them. He took up journalism at the University of Santo Tomas and joined Rappler as soon as he graduated in 2017.