First Palaro 2012 win dramatic, memorable

Michael Josh Villanueva
Dexter Galos of Region VI takes the first Palarong Pambansa gold medal.

LINGAYEN, Pangasinan – The first medal of the Palarong Pambansa was clinched in dramatic fashion Sunday, May 6 when Iloilo-native Dexter Galos took home the boy’s 5,000 meter title in the secondary division.  

Galos was trailing front runner Arnold Galap of the Cordillera Administrative Region in the final stretch – but as Galap slowed down right before the line Galos, running barefoot, lunged forward with a burst of speed. Galos clocked home a fraction of a second faster finishing at 16:01.2.13 vs Galap’s 16:01.2.16. Aldrin Agang of Central Visayas finished 3rd. 

5,000 boys (secondary): Full Video

5,000 boys (secondary): Finish Line Slow Mo


Two other Athletics events were decided today. A new record was set by Julian Reem Fuentes of the Cagayan Valley Region setting a new Palarong Pambansa record in the boy’s long jump (secondary division) leaping a distance of 7.26m. Fuentes broke a 9-year-old record of 7.15m set by Paulo Martinez of the Southern Tagalog Region in 2002. Juhn Nagtibay of Southern Tagalog finished second (6.45m) and Rowel Alarcon of Western Visayas finished 3rd (6.41m).


In boy’s shotput (secondary division) Richee Joy Cabahandog took home the second gold medal for Western Visayas today with a distance of 13.90m. Bryan Jay Pacheco of Central Luzon took silver (12.90m) and Garry Santiago bronze (12.88m). Cabahandog also broke the Palaro record (13.19) set by Arthur Enon in 1990. –

Click on the links below for more.

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.