Taekwondo: CAR nabs most medals in secondary Kyorugi

Benise P. Balaoing
Cordillera Region jins take home 8 medals out of the 48 up for grabs at the secondary Kyorugi competition

DAGUPAN, Pangasinan – In the middle of his bout against Cordillera Administrative Region’s (CAR) Gerwin P. Astrologio, National Capital Region (NCR) taekwondo jin Jenar Torillos fell to the ground in pain.

Natuhuran siya (He got hit in the knee),” explained his coach Vicky Go.

But he eventually stood up—and won the gold medal in the Kyorugi competition secondary level flyweight division against Astrologio.

Torillos’ was not the only outstanding victory of the day. Amado Sibbaluca Jr. of the Cagayan Valley region earned a 12-point lead against Region 11’s Daniel Carlo Perez to win the gold in the welterweight division.

So did NCR’s John Salvador Marcos against Rryel Joshua Ramirez of Central Luzon.

The Kyorugi competition in the taekwondo event of the Palarong Pambansa is a sparring competition. The other competition, poomsae, is all about the art of form.

Northern Mindanao took home 3 of the 12 gold medals in today’s event.

Ana Monica Tan overcame Erika Domingo at 5-1 to win the gold medal in the girl’s lightweight division. Charlyn Jumawan, on the other hand, won against Western Visayas’ Jessa Espada.

In the boy’s featherweight division, it was Kenneth Mark Porras who defeated Davao Region’s Gevereale Estoque.

But CAR blew away the other regions snagging 8 medals out of the 48 up for grabs at the secondary Kyorugi competition.

The full results are as follows:

Finweight Division
GOLD-John Salvador A. Marcos, NCR
SILVER-Rryel Joshua R. Ramirez, Central Luzon
BRONZE-Seth Jayro M. Macaraig, CALABARZON
BRONZE-Nhyll Bryant P. Molina

Flyweight Division
GOLD-Rafael Fernand C. Martinez, CALABARZON
SILVER-John Rainart Onofre P. Santos IV, Central Luzon
BRONZE-Bianito M. Apilado II, MIMAROPA
BRONZE-Tristan Dale R. Cayago, CAR

Bantamweight Division
GOLD-Cromwelln King R. Quiambao II, CAR
SILVER-Joshua T. Latoza, Northern Mindanao
BRONZE-John Meller A. Leosala, Bicol Region
BRONZE-Markco Ullyssis Lustado, CALABARZON

Featherweight Division
GOLD-Kenneth Mark B. Porras, Northern Mindanao
SILVER-Gevereale V. Estoque, Davao Region
BRONZE-Daniel M. Paringgit, NCR
BRONZE-Rejie Andrae D. Librando, Cotabato Region

Lightweight Division
GOLD-Jenar Torillos, NCR
SILVER-John Gerwin P. Astrologio, CAR
BRONZE-Rey Nino D. Chua, Zamboanga Peninsula
BRONZE- Joseph Bien V. Calo, CARAGA

Welterweight Division
GOLD-Amado G. Sibbaluca Jr., Cagayan Valley
SILVER-Daniel Carlo T. Perez, Davao Region
BRONZE-Ron Joseph Q. Quimsing, Cotabato Region
BRONZE- Emmanuel G. Canizarez, CALABARZON

Finweight Division
GOLD-Irene Therese Y. Bermejo, Western Visayas
SILVER- Ma. Teodorica B. Sorel, Ilocos Region
BRONZE-Angelica Joyce G. Gaw, CAR
BRONZE-Jeanisse Patricia C. Jubelag

Flyweight Division
GOLD- Leslie Marie A. Agyamoc, CAR
SILVER- Alice D. Fernandez, Cagayan Valley
BRONZE- Janine A. De Leoz, Bicol Region
BRONZE- RJ Bless Joy C. Mallorca, Western Visayas

Bantamweight Division
GOLD- Janna Dominique T. Oliva, Central Luzon
SILVER- Phoebie Kate M. de Guzman, CAR
BRONZE- Angela L. Mantica, Davao Region
BRONZE- Allysa Camille D. Asegurado, CALABARZON

Featherweight Division
GOLD- Angie C. Dayag, Cagayan Valley
BRONZE-Jessalyn A. Domingo, Zamboanga Region
BRONZE-Kaye Portia G. Duday

Lightweight Division
GOLD-Ana Monica P. Tan, Northern Mindanao
SILVER-Erika M. Domingo, NCR
BRONZE-Shiryl G. Badol, Davao Region
BRONZE- Nove Mae L. delos Santos, Western Visayas

Welterweight Division
GOLD-Charlyn Jumawan, Northern Mindanao
SILVER-Jessa Marie H. Espada, Western Visayas
BRONZE-Camille B. Plomantes, NCR
BRONZE- Devorah A. Alacar, CAR