Santiago celebrates top Super Liga pick with selfie

Myke Miravite
How do former UAAP volleyball stars celebrate being the top picks of the first Super Liga draft class in 2014? With a selfie, of course.

SELFIE TIME. Top 3 picks from left: Iari Yongco, Abi Maraño and Dindin Santiago 'selfie' during the PSL Draft ceremonies at the NBA Cafe in Fort Bonifacio. Photo by Josh Albelda/Rappler

MANILA, Philippines – Former National University star Dindin Santiago has earned a place in Philippine volleyball history after becoming the first ever pick in the inaugural Super Liga draft class, being selected by the Petron Blaze Spikers on Wednesday, April 2 at SM Aura in Taguig City.

After failing to tow the Lady Bulldogs to a UAAP title, the lanky blocker will join Gretchen Ho, Jen Reyes, Maica Moranda and the rest of the Blaze Spikers as the 2014 PSL All-Filipino Conference kicks off next month.

Aby Marano of UAAP Season 76 losing finalists De La Salle University, meanwhile, will be reunited with fellow Lady Spikers alumni Cha Cruz, Melissa Gohing, Steph Mercado and Michele Gumabao after new franchise Air Asia selected her as the second overall pick.

RC Cola chose national team member Iari Yongco as the third overall pick while Janine Marciano is set to join the Cagayan Lady Rising Suns as the fourth pick.

Former Ateneo Lady Eagle and this year’s fifth overall pick Jem Ferrer will bring her talent to the PLDT MyDSL Speed Boosters as the Cignal HD Spikers select Perpetual Help’s Norie Jane Diaz.

Christine Agno wraps up the first round as Generika-Philippine Army chooses her as the seventh overall pick. 

NU’s Carmina Aganon is the first pick in the second round with Wensch Tiu and Jill Gustillo joining Air Asia and RC Cola as second and third picks, respectively. 

Cagayan selected Charlene Gillego, Team PLDT picked Sasa Devanadera, Cignal HD went with Michiko Castaneda and Army chose Joyce Palad to wrap up the second round.

PSL Top 3 picks Aby Maraño, Dindin Santiago and Iari Yongco pose with Super Liga officials. Photo by Josh Albelda/Rappler

Only three teams decided to get players in the third round with Adamson University’s Mayette Zapanta going to Petron, May Macatuno to Air Asia, and Toni Faye Tan getting selected by RC Cola.

Arianna Angustia and Southlyn Ramos complete the cast as they were selected by Air Asia and RC Cola, respectively, in the fourth and final round.

The All-Filipino Conference kicks off on May 10 at the PhilSports Arena in Pasig City. –

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.