UAAP beats NCAA: La Salle downs San Beda to win FilOil title

Naveen Ganglani
UAAP beats NCAA: La Salle downs San Beda to win FilOil title
The DLSU Green Archers used a fourth quarter comeback to beat the San Beda Red Lions to win the 2014 FilOil Flying V Hanes Premier Cup title

MANILA, Philippines – The DLSU Green Archers used a fourth quarter comeback to beat the San Beda Red Lions, 71-66, and win the 2014 FilOil Flying V Hanes Premier Cup tournament on Sunday, June 8, at the San Juan Arena. 

Led by Almond Vosotros’ 18 points and MVP Jeron Teng’s 14 markers, eight rebounds, and four blocks, La Salle outscored San Beda by 13 in the fourth period, 23-10, despite a valiant effort by Baser Amer, who tallied 23 and six rebounds, 

Art Dela Cruz also had a good showing, picking up 14 points, 15 rebounds, and four assists.

La Salle came out with a refocused effort on defense in the third quarter, but San Beda’s ability to force turnovers helped them keep their advantage at nine. 

Moments later, consecutive buckets by Vosotros trimmed SBC’s edge to five, which was quickly countered by Amer, who scored four of the next six Beda points to extend the lead to 51-40. 

Jeron Teng gestures to Thomas Torres as the Green Archers pulled away late. Photo by Josh Albelda

Entering the fourth quarter, the defending NCAA champions led the defending UAAP champions, 56-48.

Thanks to a tandem of scores from Vosotros and Jason Perkins, DLSU got within four to start the fourth period. 

On the next possessions, La Salle’s onslaught continued. The team re-took the lead thanks to a Thomas Torres 3-ball, but quickly got an answer from Amer, who hit a three of his own, 59-58. 

With 3:30 to go and Beda up one, a three second violation on Ola Adeogun awarded La Salle the ball. Arnold Van Opstal, who was struggling prior, then hit a shot to put DLSU up one, 65-64. 

Amer’s floater put his team up one again, but a Perkins lay-up changed the tide once again.

After Adeogun missed a floater, a San Beda foul sent Vosotros to the line, where he made both to put DLSU up three, 69-66, with 10 seconds to go.

The Red Lions then turned the ball over, and Vosotros place the icing on the cake at the line. 

After the game, DLSU head coach Juno Sauler talked about how he wasn’t satisfied despite his club winning the championship, 

“Nung UAAP nga hindi ako nasatisfied eh,” the champion mentor joked after. 

(I wasn’t even satisfied with the UAAP title)

Perkins ended with 14 points and seven boards, while Van Opstal contributed nine and seven. Ola Adeogun, meanwhile, was limited to just eight markers and seven boards. 

The Green Archers shot better than the Red Lions from the field (40% vs, 38%) but had another troublesome day from the line, going 14-of-24 for 58%. 

With their win, the Taft-based squad has now won three straight basketball tournaments – the UAAP last October, the PCCL tourney last December, and the FilOil today. 

It was an incredible start by both champions, with San Beda firing from all cylinders while Van Opstal attacked Adeogun early for easy points. After four minutes of action, the Red Lions were ahead by one, 9-8.

As the Green Archers continued to double Adeogun on every possession, guys like Dela Cruz and Amer took advantage via weakside baseline cuts. Moments later, Beda had a four-point cushion, 15-11. 

At the end of the first quarter, La Salle faced a seven-point deficit, 20-13. 

The game’s theme turned chippy in the second period, as Perkins was called for a flagrant foul in the early goings for arguing with David Semerad. 

SBC, on the other hand, continued to pounce on DLSU’s D while limiting them on offense.

With three minutes to go in the first half, DLSU managed to cut the lead to three after a Thomas Torres 3-ball. However, the Red Lions responded with a rally of their own, and ended the second quarter on top 41-32.


DLSU: Vosotros 18, Teng 14, Perkins 14, Van Opstal 9, Torres T. 6, Salem 4, Montalbo 3, Andrada 2, Torres N. 1, Sargent 0, Tratter 0, Mustre 0 

SBC: Amer 23, Dela Cruz 14, Semerad A. 9, Adeogun 8, Pascual 6, Koga 4, Semerad D. 2, Ludovice 0, Solera 0, Mocon 0, Mendoza 0, Bonsubre 0

Quarter Scores: 13-20, 32-41, 48-56, 71-66

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.