Palicte surprised by ref stoppage in world title loss to Ioka
MANILA, Philippines – Aston Palicte felt the referee should not have stopped the bout that resulted in his technical knockout loss to Kazuto Ioka for the vacant World Boxing Organization super flyweight crown.
The Filipino failed to capture his first world title on Wednesday, June 19, after referee Kenny Chevalier stepped in with 1:14 minutes left in the 10th round as he took a beating from his Japanese counterpart.
Rocked by right to the head, Palicte sustained more damage when Ioka unleashed a barrage of head shots before the fight was halted.
"It's okay, that's just how it is in boxing," Palicte said in Filipino. "I was just surprised that the referee stopped the fight when only two punches landed."
"It should not have been that fast."
"It would have been okay if he was landing punches and I wasn't moving anymore," Palicte added.
The loss marks the second time the pride of Bago City fell short of his bid to become a world champion – the first coming in a split draw to compatriot Donnie Nietes in September for the same WBO belt.
He is headed back to the drawing board to plot his next move.
"I still don't know," Palicte said regarding his future. "I'll rest first." – Rappler.com
In these changing times, courage and clarity become even more important.
Take discussions to the next level with Rappler PLUS — your platform for deeper insights, closer collaboration, and meaningful action.
Sign up today and access exclusive content, events, and workshops curated especially for those who crave clarity and collaboration in an intelligent, action-oriented community.
As an added bonus, we’re also giving a free 1-year Booky Prime membership for the next 200 subscribers.
You can also support Rappler without a PLUS membership. Help us stay free and independent by making a donation: https://www.rappler.com/crowdfunding. Every contribution counts.