Two homegrown Pinoys vie for PXC belts

MANILA, Philippines – Pacific Xtreme Combat (PXC) makes its way back to the Manila suburb of Pasig to stage its 14th Philippine fight card at the Ynares Sports Arena on June 13.

The PXC 48 event is headlined by two championship clashes at the lower weight classes.

Team Lakay’s Crisanto Pitpitunge challenges Alvin Cacdac for the PXC flyweight belt, while Rolando Gabriel Dy meets bantamweight titleholder Kyle Aguon.

Pitpitunge (7-3) solidified his status as the No. 1 contender for the 125-pound division’s top prize when he earned a split decision win over Rambaa Somdet this past November.

The former PXC bantamweight champion from Baguio City made his successful debut as a flyweight in June 2014 when he outpointed Josh Duenas for a unanimous decision win.

On the other hand, Cacdac (15-10) submitted Montilla with a rear-naked choke in the third round to bag the vacant flyweight title last November as well.

The 5-foot-6 American-bred Filipino is a nine-year mixed martial arts veteran and has 25 professional matches, including sporadic appearances in organizations such as World Extreme Cagefighting and Strikeforce.

Meanwhile, Dy and Aguon initially crossed paths in October at PXC 45, where the Guamanian took home the vacant bantamweight belt by way of split decision.

Dy relied on his striking prowess against the 5-foot-9 opponent by throwing well-timed left hooks, crisp elbows and punishing knees, while Aguon resorted to his grappling pedigree to neutralize the stand-up leverage of his Filipino foe and scored three game-changing takedowns.

Two of the three judges had the identical 48-47 counts for Aguon, but the third cageside official sided in favor of Dy with the 48-47 mark.

With the razor-thin defeat to Aguon, Dy (5-3) fell short to replicate the feat of homegrown talents Ale Cali and Pitpitunge as a Pinoy fighter to win a world title in PXC.

Prior to the aforementioned setback, he was riding high on a three-fight winning streak, thumping the likes of Arex Montalban, Kyle Reyes and Han Bin Park.

On the other hand, Aguon (8-4) has won back-to-bout matches since unsuccessfully dethroning then-champion Michinori Tanaka at PXC 40 in October 2013. -