John Wilson crowned MPBL MVP

John Wilson bagged the Most Valuable Player award for the Lakan Cup of the Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League in Subic on Sunday, March 21.

Wilson earned the highest individual honors following an impressive regular season campaign where he powered defending champion San Juan Knights back to the finals.

The pride of Binangonan, Rizal led the MPBL in scoring in the regular season with 20.2 points to go with 6.3 rebounds, 2.6 assists, and 2.3 steals.

Wilson also bannered the All-MPBL First Team alongside teammate Mike Ayonayon, Davao Occidental ace Mark Yee, Pasig gunner Jeric Teng, and Makati big man Jeckster Apinan.

Yee clinched another award as the Defensive Player of the Year.

Meanwhile, Bacoor's Gab Banal, General Santos' Pamboy Raymundo, Manila's Chris Bitoon and Aris Dionisio, and Pasay's Dhon Reverente earned spots in the All-MPBL Second Team.

Davao Occidental star Billy Ray Robles netted the Sportsmanship Award. –

Delfin Dioquino

Delfin Dioquino dreamt of being a PBA player, but he did not have the skills to make it. So he pursued the next best thing to being an athlete – to write about them. He took up journalism at the University of Santo Tomas and joined Rappler as soon as he graduated in 2017.