Philippine esports

MPL PH Season 6: Top teams retool, new stars arrive

MPL PH Season 6: Top teams retool, new stars arrive

Screenshot from Facebook/MobileLegendsOnlinePH

Ten of the best teams in the country vie for the coveted title in the Mobile Legends: Bang Bang Professional League Philippines

The Mobile Legends: Bang Bang Professional League Philippines (MPL PH) is back for its sixth season as 10 of the best teams in the country vie for the coveted championship.

From a single-bracket, round-robin format in the past seasons, the 10 teams will be divided to two groups, with each team playing two best-of-three series against the other 4 teams in their group and one best-of-three series against each team in the other group.

Group A consists of Aura PH, Execration, Blacklist International, BNK Blu Fire, and Nexplay Predator Solid, while Onic PH, Bren Esports, Smart Omega, BSB, and Cignal Ultra comprise Group B. 

The top 4 teams from each group will advance to the playoffs, but unlike previous seasons, the teams will play in a single-elimination, best-of-five series instead of an upper and lower bracket structure. 

Out of all the changes, though, the most interesting is the new hero selection system that will be implemented in the second week of the season as 10 heroes will be banned each game, forcing teams to utilize a wider range of hero pool.

Here are the MPL PH Season 6 teams:

Aura PH
  • Holdovers: Jaypee, Rafflesia, Renzio, Killuash, Kielvj, Greed

The only team to win back-to-back MPL PH titles, Aura PH – formerly known as Sunsparks – seeks to extend its reign with a third straight crown after retaining its core from its previous championship.

Aura PH will bank on the flashy tandem of Greed and Rafflesia to initiate team fights and create space for their core player Jaypee.

Onic PH
  • Holdovers: OhMyV33nus, Wise, Dlar, Iyaknu, Jay
  • Losses: Fuzaken 
  • Additions: Basic

After back-to-back runner-up finishes, Onic PH is on a mission to get the job done and claim the title this time around.

To improve its chances in Season 6, Onic PH let go of Fuzaken to acquire the services of Basic, who is recognized as one of the most consistent core players in the local scene.

  • Holdovers: Z4pnu, Hate, Chaknu, E2max, Bennyqt
  • Losses: Cyre (shifts to coaching)
  • Additions: S4gitnu (returns to team)

Despite being one of the older teams in the MPL PH, Execration has yet to win the title, falling short last season to Onic PH in the playoffs.

As offlaner S4gitnu, formerly known as Maeeeee, returns to the team, Execration – led by veteran Z4pnu and tank/support Ch4knu – looks to get over the hump.

Bren Esports
  • Holdovers: Ribo, KarlTzy, Lusty, Pheww, Ejhay
  • Losses: Coco (shifts to coaching)
  • Additions: FlapTzy 

Bren Esports has one of the strongest rosters in the league as its squad features 4 of the 7 members of the national team that won a Southeast Asian Games gold medal in Ribo, Karltzy, Lusty, and Pheww.

To secure a better finish this season, the team relegated MPL PH veteran Coco and acquired FlapTzy, a renowned streamer who once topped the local rankings.

Blacklist International
  • Holdovers: Dex Star, Aqua, Killer, Edward
  • Losses: Honda Beast, Riddler
  • Additions: Eson, Fullclip

Blacklist International lost key players Honda Beast and Riddler after Season 5, but it immediately filled up the vacant spots by bringing Eson and Fullclip.

Now that the meta (most effective tactics available) is more flexible, Blacklist International can work around their hero pool and rotation.

Smart Omega
  • Holdovers: Haze, Kenji, Toshi, Heath, Hadjizy
  • Losses: Nina
  • Additions: KurtTzy

Smart Omega PH, formerly known as SGD Omega, is a team to watch out for following the changes in the banning system as it showed that games can also be won by utilizing seldom-used heroes outside the meta in the previous seasons.

The team will be led by the experienced duo Haze and Kenji, who also played for the country in the SEA Games.

  • Holdovers: Shaider, Wilson, Trevor, Kap Wan
  • Losses: Jeraxnu, Superman
  • Additions: Ana, Drixxx

After an early playoff exit last season, BSB tweaked its roster in hopes of making it farther this time.

Can BSB redeem itself or will the team stumble again?

BNK Blu Fire
  • Holdovers: Chuuu, S3cret, Unseen
  • Losses: Basic, Deb, Escanor
  • Additions: Fuzaken, Crypzu, Limz

Founded by DOTA personalities Carlo “Kuku” Palad and Mark “Coach BYB” Gavin last July, BNK Blu Fire – which took over the slot vacated by ULVL – consists of players who are looking to open a new chapter in their esports careers.

MPL PH champion Fuzaken, who played for powerhouse teams Sunsparks  and Onic PH, is expected to provide experience for his new squad.

Nexplay Solid
  • Roster: Renejay, Yawi, H2WO, Chester, MB, Jimnest

One of the two new teams in Season 6, Nexplay Solid has earned the recognition “Kings of the Underground” after winning multiple tournaments outside the professional league.

During the MPL PH qualifiers, Nexplay Solid – managed by popular streamer Akosi Dogie – showed how ready it is for the main stage as it completed its run undefeated.

Cignal Ultra
  • Roster: ImbaDeejay, Tsujin, Rhea, Hadess, Bensanity, YebMaester

Season 2 champion Cignal Ultra returns to the MPL PH after surviving the challenging qualifiers, which drew more than 1000 teams.

Despite a series of roster revamps, ImbaDeejay remains at the helm for Cignal Ultra, which eyes to add another championship to its name.  – Aeron Gabriel Pantig/

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.