Mobile Legends

Onic, RSG advance as Omega, Nexplay exit MPL Invitational

Delfin Dioquino
Onic, RSG advance as Omega, Nexplay exit MPL Invitational

POWERHOUSE. Onic Philippines proves why it reached the finals of Season 8 of MPL Philippines.

MPL Philippines YouTube channel

Onic Philippines eliminates fellow Filipino team Omega Esports, while RSG Philippines trounces RSG Singapore to qualify for the next stage of the MPL Invitational

Onic Philippines booked its ticket to the next round of the Mobile Legends Professional League (MPL) Invitational but at the expense of fellow Filipino team Omega Esports on Wednesday, November 3.

Finishing as runner-up in MPL Philippines Season 8, Onic made quick work of Omega with a 2-0 win as it set up a Group B clash with Indonesian powerhouse RRQ Hoshi.

The winner between Onic and RRQ will face reigning MPL Malaysia champion Team SMG in the quarterfinals.

Kairi “Kairi” Rayosdelsol (Hayabusa) submitted a near-perfect outing for Onic in Game 2, tallying 12 kills and 3 assists against 1 death as his side wrapped up the series in under 18 minutes.

Although undermanned in the final clash, with Paul Ian “Beemo” Sergio (Chou) going down, Onic still wiped out Omega behind consecutive double kill from Kairi and Mark “Markyyyyy” Etcobañez (Nathan).

Markyyyyy delivered 4 kills and 6 assists against 2 deaths in Game 2.

RSG Philippines also advanced after sweeping RSG Singapore, 2-0, in their Group A matchup.

Jonard Cedrix “Demonkite” Caranto (Karina) shone in Game 2 with 8 kills and 8 assists against 2 deaths for RSG Philippines, which forged an all-Filipino duel with Echo.

Echo earlier trounced Indonesia’s Aura Fire.

The victor between RSG Philippines and Echo will tangle with MPL Indonesia titlist Onic Esports in the last eight.

Just like Omega, Filipino squad Nexplay EVOS got the boot following a 0-2 thumping from Indonesia’s Rebellion Genflix.

Meanwhile, Blacklist International advanced directly to the quarterfinals for ruling MPL Philippines Season 8, awaiting the winner between Indonesia’s Bigetron Alpha and Cambodia’s SeeYouSoon in Group C.

A total of 20 teams from five countries were invited to the MPL Invitational, where the champion pockets the bulk of the $100,000 prize pool. –

Delfin Dioquino

Delfin Dioquino dreamt of being a PBA player, but he did not have the skills to make it. So he pursued the next best thing to being an athlete – to write about them. He took up journalism at the University of Santo Tomas and joined Rappler as soon as he graduated in 2017.