NBA owners trim timeouts, move trade deadline

Agence France-Presse
NBA owners trim timeouts, move trade deadline


Among the rule changes to be implemented are allowing teams just two timeouts in the final 3 minutes, and a delay-of-game violation for free throw shooters who venture past the three-point arc

NEW YORK, USA – The NBA Board of Governors has unanimously approved rules changes regarding timeouts and free throws while moving the trade deadline ahead of the NBA All-Star Game, the league announced Wednesday, July 12

At a meeting in Las Vegas, league owners voted to cut the maximum number of timeouts in a game from 18 to 14.

Also, in the final 3 minutes of a game, teams will be allowed only two timeouts each. Previously, they were allowed 3 per club in the final two minutes.

“These changes will help us fulfill our goal of improving game flow and pace of play,” said NBA president of league operations Byron Spruell. “Fewer stoppages and less time without action, especially at the end of a game, will further enhance the viewing experience for our fans.”

Reducing the number of late-game stoppages also could open the door to more late fouling by trailing teams given the greater limits on other ways to stop the clock.

The change, like other approved moves, came after the NBA’s competition committee recommended the alterations.

The trade deadline was moved forward two weeks, from the Thursday after the NBA All-Star Game to the Thursday coming 10 days before the elite showdown of Eastern and Western Conference talent.

The move allows clubs to settle their rosters before the break, avoiding disruptions resulting from players joining new clubs just as workouts and games resume after the All-Star Game break.

To better improve game flow, referees will call a delay-of-game violation if a free throw shooter ventures beyond the three-point arc between attempts.

Also, halftime breaks will be 15 minutes for all games starting the moment the second quarter ends, with a delay-of-game penalty issued to any team not ready to resume at that point.

The league will now allow 7 timeouts per team per game with all timeouts lasting 75 seconds. Previously, timeouts could be 90 seconds or so-called “20-second” stoppages that typically lasted a minute.

All four periods will have two mandatory timeouts, which will take place after the first stoppage under the 7- and 3-minute marks. An under-9-minute mandatory timeout in the second and fourth periods will be eliminated.

Each team can carry up to 4 timeouts into the fourth quarter, but face the new limitation in the final 3 minutes. Teams will have two timeouts in any over-time period, a reduction from 3 previously. –

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.