US basketball

Klay Thompson, Dwight Howard sound off on NBA 75 Greatest snub

Delfin Dioquino

SNUBBED. Klay Thompson considers himself top 75 all-time.


Warriors' Klay Thompson and Lakers' Dwight Howard fail to make the cut as the NBA names 11 active players to its 75th anniversary team

Klay Thompson and Dwight Howard made their displeasure known after being among the most notable omissions in the 75 Greatest Players list released by the NBA.

The NBA marked its 75th year by updating its greatest list, adding 26 new players – a result of a tie – to the 50 original members feted in 1996 during the 50th league anniversary.

Active players LeBron James, Giannis Antetokounmpo, Stephen Curry, Kevin Durant, James Harden, Kawhi Leonard, Chris Paul, Carmelo Anthony, Russell Westbrook, Damian Lillard, and Anthony Davis made the cut.

“Maybe I’m just naive in my ability to play basketball, but in my head, I’m top 75 all-time,” Thompson wrote on Instagram.

Forming the “Splash Brothers” tandem with Curry, Thompson played a pivotal role as he keyed the Golden State Warriors to three NBA titles in 2015, 2017, and 2018.

Thompson is a five-time All-Star, two-time All-NBA Third Team member, and an All-Defensive Second Team member.

He holds the record for most points in a single quarter after torching the Sacramento Kings with 37 points on a perfect 13-of-13 clip in the third period of their January 2015 regular-season game.

Meanwhile, Howard kept it short as he voiced his frustration.

“Disrespectful,” Howard told Bleacher Report.

One of the most dominant big men during his heyday, Howard won Defensive Player of the Year thrice, which is tied for second-most all-time, and made the All-NBA First Team five times.

Howard is also an eight-time All-Star, four-time All-Defensive First Team member, five-time rebounding leader, and two-time blocks leader.

Despite seeing his numbers dip in the past seasons, the Los Angeles veteran continues to be productive as he helped the Lakers capture the NBA championship in 2020.

Other players who fans and pundits feel were snubbed in the 75th anniversary team include Hall of Famers Tracy McGrady, Dikembe Mutombo, and Grant Hill. –

Delfin Dioquino

Delfin Dioquino dreamt of being a PBA player, but he did not have the skills to make it. So he pursued the next best thing to being an athlete – to write about them. He took up journalism at the University of Santo Tomas and joined Rappler as soon as he graduated in 2017.