Perpetual Help's Earl Scottie Thompson wins NCAA MVP award

MANILA, Philippines - University of Perpetual Help's Earl Scottie Thompson was named the Most Valuable Player of the NCAA Season 90 men's basketball tournament on Monday, October 20, at the Mall of Asia Arena.

Thompson was the highlight of the league's awarding ceremonies, which took place moments before game 1 of the NCAA men's basketball finals between the San Beda Red Lions and Arellano Chiefs. 

"Masarap," Thompson described winning the MVP award. "Siguro ito yung naging award saakin," he later said about the fruits of his labor.

(It feels good. I guess this was the reward for my hard work.) 

Thompson averaged 26.5 ppg and 10.0 rpg this season, leading his team, the UPHSD Altas, to the league's Final Four round where they were eliminated by the four-time defending champion Red Lions. 

"Sa ngayon hindi ko pa masasabi," Thompson said when asked if Perpetual can make it to the finals and win the NCAA men's basketball title in 2015 - his last season of eligibility. "Susubuhan ko buhatin," he later said about shouldering most of the load for the squad, which is losing four key rotation players after this season.

(I can't answer that right now. I will try to carry the team.)

Thompson was also included in the tourney's Mythical 5 team along with San Beda's Ola Adeogun, San Sebastian's Bradwyn Guinto, Arellano's Jiovanni Jalalon, and his teammate Harold Arboleda.

Jalalon was also named the league's Most Improved Player, while his Chiefs teammate Dioncee Holts was crowned the best rookie of Season 90.

Lyceum's Joseph Gabayni was named the league's Defensive Player of the Year, and was joined by Adeogun, Thompson, Guinto, and JRU's Abdul-Wahab in the All-Defensive Team. 

In the junior's basketball division, JRU's Darius Estrella was named the MVP while Perpetual's Raphael Chavez attained the Rookie of the Year award.

San Beda and Jose Rizal University won the Sportsmanship Awards in the junior's and senior's basketball tournaments, respectively. -