Palarong Pambansa results highlights: Day 5
On Day 5, more teams get eliminated and a chosen few advance to the semifinals of various sports

LINGAYEN, Pangasinan – On Day 5, more teams get eliminated and a chosen few advance to the semifinals of various sports.

Below are the highlights. For photo highlights, click here.

EDITOR’s NOTE: Highlights are based on results posted by 8PM, Wednesday, May 9.



The National Capital Region breezed through Davao Region, 91-65, to earn a ticket the semifinals of the hoops tournament.

Zamboanga Peninsula scored a mild upset of Central Luzon, 74-64, while Western Visayas upended Central Visayas in the second half to score a 61-52 win.

CALABARZON waylaid Northern Mindanao, 78-55, to complete the semis cast.


Southern Tagalog and Central Luzon scored similar 5-1 victories to advance to the semifinals of the baseball competitions.

Defending champion Zamboanga Peninsula ousted NCR, 6-2, and MIMAROPA survived Davao Region, 2-1.


MIMAROPA and NCR crushed their foes, 14-3 and 13-0, respectively, while Davao Region and Western Visayas posted closer wins to form the softball semifinals group.


Central Visayas trumped Davao Region, 25-18, 25-18, while MIMAROPA outsmarted Zamboanga Peninsula, 25-12, 25-17, to advance to the semifinals.

Western Visayas joined them after beating Northern Mindanao, 25-22, 25-14, even as CALABARZON clobbered CAR, 25-11, 25-4.


Ronald Lacson of Western Visayas posted a distance of 53.47m, beating the 1998 javelin throw record of Jonah Robles of 51.88m.



Two-time champs CALABARZON crushed Central Luzon, 90-73, and tournament favorite National Capital Region went through the eye of the needle before getting past Central Visayas, 91-85, in overtime.

Davao Region hammered CAR while Western Visayas escaped Eastern Visayas to complete the semis roster.


Western Visayas and the National Capital Region had an easy time dealing with their quarterfinals foes to earn tickets to the semifinals.

On the other hand, Northern Mindanao and Central Visayas went the full distance with their opponents but still managed to pull off wins.


Bicol Region blasted Eastern Visayas, 9-2, even as CAR thrashed, 8-0, and defending champs Central Visayas blanked CALABARZON, 3-0.


Two-time defending champions National Capital Region reasserted their might in a 16-0 massacre of Central Visayas to enter the semifinals of the baseball tourney.

Northern Mindanao (13-1 over ARMM), Central Luzon (4-0 over MIMAROPA) and CALABARZON (9-8 over Western Visayas) complete the final four cast.


Last year’s champion Western Visayas barely scraped past Northern Mindanao, 2-0, to advance to the semifinals of the softball competitions.

CALABARZON, Central Luzon and Central Visayas also scored close victories in a day that was the opposite of the series of routs the tournament saw yesterday.


Three each from Davao Region and Cotabato Region made it to the finals of the boxing competitions with Davao sending bets into the minimum weight, light mosquito weight and light flyweight divisions and Cotabato gaining qualifiers in mosquito weight, light paper weight and light flyweight.

While other regions also won bouts, CARAGA, MIMAROPA, Bicol Region and the National Capital Region failed to bring any boxer into the finals.


Maureen Emily Schrijvers of the National Capital Region made history by breaking the high jump mark after scaling 1.62 meters.

Lorenzo Lapazo of Western Visayas also matched the high jump secondary boys record when he cleared 1.90m, the 2002 record posted by Paulo Martinez of Southern Tagalog.


Two mild upsets: Region 7’s Karl Kristian Mari who has broken 4 records so far, lost the gold to his teammate Romeo Betacher in the individual Olympic round. NCR’s Bianca Gotuaco who broke a record yesterday in secondary girls also lost the gold to Kathy Rose Vilbar of Region 12, also in the individual Olympic round.


National Capital Region’s Axel Ngui bagged his fifth gold medal after ruling the 100m butterfly in a day when the Big City swimmers dominated anew.

Catherine Bondad, Anna Bartolome, Thea Caluma and Paula Kayanan set a new record in the 200m freestyle team relay by clocking in at 1:55.26 to shatter the 1:57.05 mark set in 2008.

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.