PCCL 2014 Elite Eight round begins

MANILA, Philippines - The Elite Eight round of the 2014 PCCL (Philippine Collegiate Champions League) tournament is scheduled to begin on Thursday, November 13, in Cebu.

The 8 teams have been divided into two groups of 4, with each school scheduled to take on the four squads from the opposing group.

Group A features defending UAAP men's basketball champions NU Bulldogs; the runner up to the recent NCAA men's basketball tournament - the Arellano Chiefs; the second place in the latest Cesafi finals, University of San Carlos; and the DLSU Green Archers, who won the Northern Luzon/Metro Manila qualifying round to gain a spot in the Elite Eight.

In Group B, there's the reigning NCAA men's basketball champions San Beda Red Lions; the runner up to the recent UAAP men's basketball tournament - the FEU Tamaraws; reigning Cesafi champion Southwestern University; and the UV Lancers, who won the Visayas/Mindanao qualifying round to enter the Elite Eight.

The first game of the Elite Eight will be between La Salle and Southwestern University on Thursday at 2pm in Cebu. Both squads met in the championship round of the 2013 PCCL tournament, with La Salle sweeping the series in two games.

The match will also mark the first time La Salle's new recruit, Ben Mbala, will take on his former team since leaving them in 2013.

Following the DLSU-SWU match, FEU will tackle University of San Carlos at 4 pm.

The following day, Friday, November 14, the Green Archers will be back in action when they take on the Lacers at 2 pm, followed by SWU vs. USC at 4 pm, also in Cebu.

The Elite Eight round will make its way back to Metro Manila on Friday, November 21, when DLSU goes head to head with San Beda at 2 pm at the Ynares Gym in Pasig City, followed by Arellano vs. FEU at 4 pm.

The best-of-three series for the 2014 PCCL tournament will begin on November 27, Thursday, at the Ynares Gym. Game 2 is scheduled on December 1, Monday, and Game 3, if necessary, will be on December 2, Tuesday.

There will also be a battle for third place game on November 27, Thursday.

View the entire schedule here (Courtesy of collegiatechampionsleague.net):

Venue: CEBU
November 13: 2pm: SWU vs. DLSU, 4pm: FEU vs. USC. Cebu
November 14: 2pm: DLSU vs. UV, 4pm: SWU vs. USC. Cebu
November 15: 2pm: NU vs. UV, 4pm: SBC vs. USC. Cebu
November 16: 2pm: AU vs. UV, 4pm: NU vs. SWU. Cebu
November 17: 2pm: USC vs. UV, 4pm: SWU vs. AU. Cebu

November 21: 2pm: DLSU vs. SBC, 4pm: AU vs. FEU
November 24: 2pm: DLSU vs. FEU, 4pm: NU vs. SBC
November 25: 2pm: SBC vs. AU, 4pm: NU vs. FEU
November 27: Battle for third and Game 1 of Finals

ā€“ Rappler.com