Philippine national team rosters released as SEAG football kicks off


MANILA, Philippines – The Philippine Football Federation (PFF) has announced the final lineups of the Men's Football Under-22 team and National Women's Football Team for the 29th Southeast Asian Games in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Men's Team Players:

UAAP Season 79 Most Valuable Player and Best Striker Jarvey Gayoso, National Team veteran Daniel Gadia and Former Belgium Youth team member Dylan de Bruycker will be expected to lead the U-22 squad this SEAG. The men's team will be headed by Coach Marlon Maro, and assisted by Marlon Pinero, Randolfo Clarino, and Anthony Albao.

Philippines is categorized under Group B along with Cambodia, Indonesia, Thailand, Timor Leste, and Vietnam in the Men's Division. 

Women's Team Players:

There are high hopes for this women's team roster to finally bag its first podium finish in the tournament since the 1985 SEAG bronze medal finish. Aside from the fact that most of the members of this team were part of the squad that qualifed for the 2018 AFC Women's Asian Cup in Jordan, the addition of UAAP top strikers Kyra Dimaandal, Camille Rodriguez and Charisa Lemoran will strengthen the Philippine frontline. 

The women's team was able to face Japanese women's football clubs, Nojoima Stella Kanagawa, Yamanashi Gakuin University, and Kanagawa Prefecture Selection Team for the National Games, in a training camp to prepare them for the upcoming SEAG.

Marnelli “Let” Dimzon will be heading the coaching staff, while being assisted by John Paul Merida and Gerald Orcullo.

Philippines, Malaysia, Myanmar, Thailand, and Vietnam will be in a single group in the tournament.

The games for both the men's and women's divisions are scheduled to take place on August 15 to 24, 2017. –

Beatrice Go

More commonly known as “Bee”, Beatrice is a multimedia sports reporter for Rappler, who covers Phillippine sports governance, national teams, football and the UAAP. Stay tuned for her news and features on Philippine sports and videos like the Rappler Athlete’s Corner and Rappler Sports Timeout.