James Deiparine takes 100m breaststroke silver in 2017 SEA Games

Alyssa Rola
James Deiparine takes 100m breaststroke silver in 2017 SEA Games
The 24-year-old swimmer snatches the silver medal after clocking in 1:02.11 minutes

MANILA, Philippines- After a string of bronzes, the national swimming team delivered a silver medal for the Philippines courtesy of James Deiparine in the 29th Southeast Asian Games men’s 100-meter breaststroke event on Friday, August 25 at the National Aquatic Centre, KL Sports City, Malaysia.

The Filipino-American breaststroke specialist qualified in 8th place during the heats, but was deemed the dark horse come the finals as he momentarily took the lead in the first 50 meters of the event. He snatched the silver after clocking in 1:02.11.

Indonesia’s Gagarin Nathaniel finished strong to take the gold at 1:01.76, while Thailand’s Radomyos Matjiur settled for bronze after registering a time of 1:02.24.

Deiparine, 24, is the current holder of the national record for 100m breaststroke at 1:02.00.

Meanwhile, Jessie Lacuna failed to garner a podium finish as he landed in 4th place of the men’s 400-meter individual medley event also on Friday.

Lacuna, who represented the Philippines in the London 2012 and Rio 2016 Olympic Games, was ahead after the 100-meter butterfly, but lost the lead in the backstroke portion of the event. He put up an official time of 4:27.06.

Vietnam’s Huu Kim Son Nguyen broke the SEA Games record and captured the gold medal at 4:22.12, while Indonesia’s Aflah Fadlan Prawira and Singapore’s Sheng Jun Pang received the silver and bronze, respectively, in the medley. -Rappler.com

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.