DLSU stuns UST to earn 10th UAAP Women’s Football championship

Beatrice Go

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

DLSU stuns UST to earn 10th UAAP Women’s Football championship

Glen Charles Lopez

(UPDATED) The DLSU Women's Football team earn back-to-back titles

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATED) – It came on Finals Day.

The De La Salle University Women’s Football team finally defeated the University of Santos Tomas (UST) Lady Booters in Season 80, 2-1, and earned their 10th championship on Thursday, April 5, at the Rizal Memorial Stadium.

Kyla Inquig’s brace catapulted to DLSU to their second straight championship. Her 79th minute goal from way out of the box became the game-winner of the match.

In the Season 79 finals, DLSU women’s football team blanked UST, 3-0, to secure their 9th title. The last time UST won a women’s football championship was in Season 74.

This season, the Lady Booters swept DLSU in the eliminations that sent the defending champions to second seed behind UST in the standings.

According to head coach Han Smit, his team battled through a rough season as the team encountered a total of 10 injuries and was without the dyanmic duo of Sara and Anicka Castañeda due to national team duties.

Smit owed it to the focus of his team throughout the game as he laid down the foundation of a good mindset in preparation for the game.

“I was hoping that UST would be overconfident especially after they drew us [1-1], but the girls stayed focus. Nobody deserves to win this game if [it’s not] for the championship, but to get back at UST,” said Smit.

Inquig claimed her second straight MVP title. DLSU also dominated the individual awards with Anna Beatrice Delos Reyes nabbing the ROY award, Shannon Arthur for Best Midfielder and Tashka Lacson for Best Goalkeeper.

UST’s Cadag was awarded the Best Striker for netting in 7 goals throughout the tournament – including the only goal for UST in the finals. Second runner-ups Far Eastern University’s Hannah Pacheho won the Best Defender award.

In the first half of the finals match, DLSU opened the scoring with Inquig converting her free kick in the 12th minute. Ten minutes later, Shelah Cadag equalized it at 1-1 after going one-on-one with DLSU keeper Natasha Lacson. – Rappler.com


Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!
Clothing, Apparel, Person


Beatrice Go

More commonly known as Bee, Beatrice Go is a multimedia sports reporter for Rappler, who covers Philippine sports governance, national teams, football, and the UAAP. Stay tuned for her news and features on Philippine sports and videos like the Rappler Athlete’s Corner and Rappler Sports Timeout.