UAAP: La Salle bags 11th women’s football crown

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

UAAP: La Salle bags 11th women’s football crown
MVP Sara Castañeda powers the La Salle Lady Booters to a third straight title romp


MANILA, Philippines – La Salle topped Far Eastern University, 2-0, in the UAAP women’s football final to capture a record 11th championship on Thursday, May 16, at the Rizal Memorial Stadium.

After a goalless first half, the Lady Booters went on attack mode as Rocelle Mendaño opened the scoring with a 54th minute header while rookie Shai Del Campo netted her 10th goal of the season with a 79th minute strike that iced the win and the three-peat.

Sara Castañeda, La Salle’s heart and soul, was named the season MVP.

“I’m very happy and very thankful that I got the chance to play for this team,” said Castañeda, who also won Best Midfielder. “I don’t think we thought of the championship so much. More of us, we try to play our best in every game.”

Del Campo won the Rookie of the Year and Best Striker honors, while her teammate Tashka Lacson bagged the Best Goalkeeper award.

Hannah Pachejo of the Lady Tamaraws took the Best Defender plum, while the Lady Booters claimed the Fair Play award.

University of Santo Tomas, last season’s losing finalist, finished 3rd place. –


Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!