PH women's volleyball SEA Games roster set; Valdez, Maraño included

The twelve-person women’s volleyball team that will represent the Philippines at the 2015 SEA Games in Singapore has been set.

Ateneo Lady Eagles Alyssa Valdez, Jia Morado, Bea de Leon and Denden Lazaro will be joined by Jaja Santiago, Gretchen Soltones, Rhea Dimaculangan, Maika Ortiz, Aby Marano, Rachel Ann Daquis, Dindin Santiago-Manabat and Jovelyn Gonzaga.

In addition, 5-foot-10 Aiza Maizo-Pontillas of the Shakey’s V-League’s Cagayan Valley Lady Rising Suns will join the team as a reserve player and assistant coach.

Valdez, a two-time UAAP most valuable player, will be the flag-bearer for the Philippines but a team captain has not been named. 

The team is coached by Roger Gorayeb and Sinfronio Acaylar.

The Philippine women’s national volleyball team will attempt to win its sixth gold medal at the SEA Games, but its first since 1993. Thailand has won the nine previous competitions since then.

The team will arrive in Singapore on June 4 for the competition, which starts June 10.