WATCH: Roosevelt Four Freedoms Awards ceremony
WATCH: Roosevelt Four Freedoms Awards ceremony
Rappler's Maria Ressa will receive the Freedom of Speech award

This is an announcement from

Five extraordinary people and organizations will receive a Four Freedoms Award on March 31 for their dedication to Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s four freedoms.

Guided by presenter Joris Luyendijk, young people will be given the opportunity to talk to the freedom speakers and laureates during the Four Freedoms meetup.

The winners of the Four Freedoms Awards are Filipino journalist and Rappler CEO Maria Ressa, Dutch presenter and changemaker Sander de Kramer, Religions for Peace (Azza Karam), and Leoluca Orlando, the mayor of Palermo in Italy.

The International Four Freedom Award will be presented to the United Nations (António Guterres).

Because of COVID-19, the awards will be presented online by outgoing Dutch Prime Minister Mark Rutte, football coach Guus Hiddink, journalist Simone Weimans, advertising executive Mark Woerde, and actress Hadewych Minis.

7 pm: Four Freedoms Awards Ceremony

Dutch King Willem-Alexander, Rutte, and Anne Roosevelt, granddaughter of Franklin Roosevelt, have all recorded a special video message. The ceremony will be accompanied by the Matangi string quartet, with music composed by Peter Slager (BLØF) and Martin Fondse.

8 pm: Four Freedoms meetup

Presenter Joris Luyendijk will guide a discussion between 4 young people and the laureates as part of the meetup. There will also be conversations with four freedom speakers: Simone Weimans, Nathascha van Weezel, Joris Linssen, and Massih Hutak. This meetup is the result of the collaboration between the Roosevelt Foundation and Stichting Vrijheidscolleges.