22 Cagayan Valley police chiefs sacked for poor performance

Raymon Dullana

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

22 Cagayan Valley police chiefs sacked for poor performance

Raymon Dullana

Cagayan Valley Director Police Chief Superintendent Gilbert Sosa says this is part of the 'reorganization' of regional police to support the government's war on drugs

CAGAYAN, Philippines – Twenty-two city and town police chiefs in the Cagayan Valley region have been relieved of their posts due to their “unsatisfactory performance” in the illegal drug campaign of the Philippine National Police (PNP).

In a statement on Friday, August 26, Cagayan Valley Director Police Chief Superintendent Gilbert Sosa said this is part of the “reorganization” of the regional police to strengthen its support for the Duterte administration’s campaign against illegal drugs.

“We will put the best performing PNP Officers in [top] posts so that we will meet our target and attain our mission to make Cagayan Valley a drug-free region,” Sosa said.

Sosa earlier warned the region’s chiefs of police that they would be relieved of their posts if they fail  to “double their efforts in the campaign against illegal drugs to meet the target on the given time frame.”

The Cagayan Valley region includes the provinces of Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, and Quirino.

The most number of relieved police chiefs are in Isabela:

  • Superintendent Manuel Bringas of Ilagan City Police Station
  • Superintendent Engelbert Soriano of Cauayan City Police Station
  • Senior Inspector Ignacio Layugan of Dinapigue Police Station
  • Senior Inspector. Prospero Agonoy of Quirino Police Station
  • Senior Inspector Ben Bumanglag of Delfin Albano Police Station
  • Senior Inspector Jonathan Binayug of Palanan Police Station
  • Senior Inspector Ruby Capinpin of Roxas Police Station
  • Senior Inspector Richard Limbo of Divilacan Police Station
  • Chief Inspector. Edgardo Esteban of Maconacon Police Station
  • Senior Inspector Aladin Revocal of San Pablo Police Station
  • Chief Inspector Pilarito Malillin of San Mateo Police Station
  • Chief Inspector Mario Fajardo of Luna Police Station

Those relieved of their posts in Cagayan are the following:

  • Chief Inspector Alvin Mabazza of Alcala Police Station
  • Senior Inspector Antonio Palattao of Allacapan Police Station
  • Senior Inspector Eugenio Catubag of Rizal Police Station
  • Senior Inspector Ronald Balod of Sta Praxedes Police Station
  • Senior Inspector Mario Maraggun of Calayan Police Station
  • Senior Inspector Christopher Danao of Buguey Police Station

Those who were relieved in Nueva Vizcaya are Chief Inspector Larry Pinkihan of Kasibu Police Station, Chief Inspector Joeffrey Bulong of Ambaguio Police Station, and Senior Inspector Rudil Bassit of Kayapa Police Station; and Senior Inspector Alex Orbillo in Quirino province.

The relief of Bringas and Soriano were effective August 23, while the others were effective August 24.

Even if his province had the most number poor-performing police chiefs, Isabela Governor Faustino “Bojie” Dy III was included in the Duterte administration’s top 10 “honor list” of governors who performed well in curbing illegal drugs in their provinces. – Rappler.com

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI
Download the Rappler App!