Duterte confers honors on Marawi heroes

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

Duterte confers honors on Marawi heroes

Photo by Lito Boras/

Police and soldiers who were killed in action in the months-long conflict in Marawi City are among the Order of Lapu-Lapu (Kalasag) awardees

MANILA, Philippines – The heroes of Marawi City were honored on Monday, August 28, during the commemoration of National Heroes Day.

A total of 129 soldiers and police were conferred the Order of Lapu-Lapu (Kalasag) award.

Troops who were killed in action in the months-long conflict in Marawi City, as well as in other security operations, were included in the list of honorees, with their family members receiving the posthumous awards. (READ: Duterte returns to Marawi as clashes enter 4th month)

“Today, we confer the Order of Lapu-Lapu [to] individuals who rendered extraordinary service to our country; of utmost significance are the fallen heroes of Marawi, of Jolo, Sulu and in other places in the country fighting terrorism and subversion of the New People’s Army and the ISIS-Maute terror groups in Lanao,” President Rodrigo Duterte said in his speech during the ceremony commemorating National Heroes Day at the Libingan ng mga Bayani in Taguig City.

The Order of Lapu-Lapu was created by Duterte through Executive Order 17 last April. The Kalasag Medal is given to those who died in the line of duty, as they help in the government’s campaigns or advocacies.

Duterte said he created the Order of Lapu-Lapu because he believes “every Filipino who has done something for the country should be recognized, living or dead.”

“I cannot thank them enough for their invaluable service to the nation, and we shall be forever in debt,” he said. (READ: Duterte: Harness Filipino heroes’ virtues to fight crime, poverty)

Also honored by the President was Police Chief Inspector Jovie Espenido, who has been reassigned by Duterte to Iloilo. Espenido was given the Magalong Medal, conferred on government officials or personnel, or private individuals, who have made “extraordinary service or have made exceptional contributions to the success of an activity pursuant to a campaign or advocacy of the President.”

Also present at the ceremony was Vice President Leni Robredo and Taguig City Mayor Lani Cayetano. –

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!