Ledesma, Pacquiao top House absentees


This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

Who are the top absentees in the House in the 15th Congress? Who registered a perfect attendance?

CRASH COURSE. The 16th Congress opens July 22. Photo by Egay G. Aguilar

MANILA, Philippines – Only 21 out of the more than 280 the members of the House of Representatives registered a perfect attendance in all 168 sessions the 15th Congress. 

Professional boxer Sarangani Rep Manny Pacquiao — the wealthiest member of the House and arguably the most popular among all solons on the global stage — recorded the most number of absences, along with another chronic absentee, Negros Occidental Rep Jules Ledesma. 

Both congressmen were only present in 108 out of 168 sessions. They had been perennial absentees throughout their term. 

Meanwhile, Pampanga Rep Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, who is currently under hospital arrest for plunder charges, and her son, Mikey Macapagal-Arroyo, representative of disqualified party list group Ang Galing Pinoy, both recorded 53 absences. 

Here are the solons who recorded the most number of absences in the 15th Congress:

1. Jules Ledesma (Negros Occidental)


2. Manny Pacquiao (Sarangani)


3. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo (Pampanga)


4. Mikey Macapagal-Arroyo (AGP party list)


5. Carmelo Lazatin (Pampanga)


6. Maria Evita Arago (Laguna)


7. Augusto Boboy Syjuco (Iloilo)


8. Narciso Bravo Jr (Masbate)


9. Maria Valentina Plaza (Agusan del Sur)


10.  Maria Jocelyn Bernos (Abra)


The House secretariat classifies the attendance record of solons into two categories: those who are “actually present” on the floor and those who are only “deemed present.” In determining the quorum, only those who are actually present can be counted. 

Section 70 of the House rules states that those who can be deemed present are:

  • Members who are attending committee meetings as authorized by the Committee on Rules, in accordance with Section 35 hereof, upon written notification to the Secretary General by the concerned committee secretary;
  • Members who are attending meetings of the Commission on Appointments;
  • Members who are attending meetings of the House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal;
  • Members who are attending meetings of bicameral conference committees; and
  • Members who are on official mission as approved by the Speaker.

Only 8 representatives were “actually present” in all sessions. They are:

  1. Dato Arroyo (Camarines Sur)
  2. Leopoldo Bataoil (Pangasinan)
  3. Speaker Feliciano Belmonte Jr (Quezon City)
  4. Edcel Lagman (Albay)
  5. Cutie De Mar (Cebu City) 
  6. Salvio Fortuno (Camarines Sur)
  7. Roilo Golez (Parañaque)
  8. David Kho (Masbate)

Meanwhile, here’s the list of solons who were “deemed present” in all sessions held during the 15th Congress: 

  1. Giorgidi Aggabao (Isabela)
  2. Emmeline Aglipay (Diwa party list)
  3. Bolet Banal (Quezon City)
  4. Winston Castelo (Quezon City)
  5. Neptali Gonzales II (Mandaluyong City)
  6. Bernadette Herrera-Dy (Bagong Henerasyon party list)
  7. Florencio-Noel (An Waray party list)
  8. Reena Concepcio-Obillo (Una Ang Pamilya party list)
  9. Angelo Palmones (AGHAM party list)
  10. Roberto Puno (Antipolo City)
  11. Miro Quimbo (Marikina City)
  12. Rene Relampagos (Bohol)
  13. Rufus Rodriguez (Cagayan de Oro City)

Check out the attendance record of your representative below. There are 284 members of the House. The list also includes deceased solons and the replacements of those who were disqualified. 

15th Congress attendance – House of Representatives

with reports from Angela Casauay/Rappler.com 

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!