Russell Westbrook named 2017 NBA Most Valuable Player
See the full list of winners at the 2017 NBA Awards

MVP. Russell Westbrook is the 2017 NBA MVP. Photo by J Pat Carter/Getty Images/AFP

MANILA, Philippines – Russell Westbrook of the Oklahoma City Thunder was named 2017 KIA NBA Most Valuable Player on Monday, June 26 (Tuesday in Manila), during the first-ever NBA Awards show.

Westbrook won the coveted award over candidates Kawhi Leonard of the San Antonio Spurs and James Harden of the Houston Rockets.

The explosive guard brought home the trophy after a remarkable season where he averaged a triple-double, becoming the first player to do so since Oscar Robertson in the 1961-62 season.

His historic season included a league-leading scoring average of 31.6 points per game, on top of 10.4 assists and 10.7 rebounds per game as the Thunder finished with a 47-35 record.

Westbrook walked up to the stage composed and relaxed but soon turned emotional as he thanked his family members and all the people behind his success, including his Thunder teammates, whom he called up to the stage to personally honor.

This award is not for me; it’s for you guys,” he said.

Here is the full list of winners at the 2017 NBA Awards:

  • NBA Most Valuable Player Award: Russell Westbrook
  • NBA Rookie of the Year Award: Malcolm Brogdon
  • NBA Executive of the Year Award: Bob Myers
  • NBA Sixth Man of the Year Award: Eric Gordon
  • Twyman–Stokes Teammate of the Year Award: Dirk Nowitzki
  • NBA All-Defensive Team: Draymond Green, Rudy Gobert, Kawhi Leonard, Chris Paul, Patrick Beverley
  • NBA Coach of the Year Award: Mike D’Antoni
  • NBA Most Improved Player Award: Giannis Antetokounmpo
  • NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award: Draymond Green
  • NBA Sportsmanship Award: Kemba Walker
  • NBA All-Rookie Team: Dario Saric, Malcolm Brogdon, Joel Embiid, Buddy Hield, Willy Hernangomez
  • NBA Sager Strong Award: Monty Williams
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Bill Russell

Fan awards:

  • Dunk of the Year: Victor Oladipo
  • Best Style: Russell Westbrook
  • Block of the Year: Kawhi Leonard
  • Game Winner of the Year: Russell Westbrook
  • Top Performance of the Year: Klay Thompson
  • Assist of the Year: Draymond Green, Steph Curry