UP outlasts DLSU for first ever UAAP women's football title

MANILA, Philippines - The University of the Philippines Lady Maroons bank on a late goal by BG Sta. Clara to topple De La Salle University 2-1, to win the UAAP Season 78 women's football title on Thursday, May 5 at Rizal Memorial Stadium in Manila, Philippines.

The win gives UP its first ever UAAP women's title after making the final for the second straight year in 3 years under the tutelage of Coach Anto Gonzales. UP lost in the final last year to Far Eastern University in the last leg of a three-peat by the FEU Lady Tamaraws.

After a scoreless first half, Christina de los Reyes of UP started the scoring in the second half, converting a penalty in the 50th minute. The lead wouldn't stick for long as DLSU had a chance at its own penalty following a UP penalty. Sara Castañeda knocked in the penalty at the 60th minute.

Sta. Clara broke the tie with a header at the 67th minute to reach the final score and earn her Woman of the Match honors.

UP's Santa Clara puts her side up 2-1 against DLSU with a '66 goal in the UAAP women's football final pic.twitter.com/4Dh6gUBC4J — Rappler Sports (@RapplerSports) May 5, 2016

DLSU held the edge in total shots, 14-5, and shots on target, 7-4, and corners, 6-1. UP also committed more fouls, 7-3, and received the only two yellow cards of the match.

Afterwards, the UP side held up a sign that read "For Rogie," a reference to UP men's player Rogie Maglinas who died in February following a battle with cancer.

The Mythical 11 was named after the match, with Castañeda, Inna Palacios, Regine Metillo, Irish Navaja, Kyla Inquig and Shannon Arthur of DLSU being named, while Molly Manalansan and Aira Agustin of the champion squad were recognized, rounded out by Anne Martin and Isabella Sabio of Ateneo and Chanda Solite of UST.

Molly Manalansan, who was playing her final game as a senior, took home the highest individual honor as Season 78 Most Valuable Player.

UP has a chance to add more trophies to its daily tally when its men's squad faces Ateneo de Manila University in the final. – Rappler.com