Obama vows to ensure smooth transition for Trump

Rappler.com
Obama vows to ensure smooth transition for Trump
'We are Americans first. We're patriots first. We all want what's best for this country,' Obama says

WASHINGTON, DC, USA (4th UPDATE) – US President Barack Obama on Wednesday, November 9 (November 10, Manila time), publicly addressed the shock election of Donald Trump as his successor, promising to ensure a smooth transition for Trump.

Obama said he had instructed his team to work hard to ensure a successful transition for the Republican billionaire, “because we are now all rooting for his success in uniting and leading the country.”

Speaking in the Rose Garden of the White House at 12:15 pm in Washington (1715 GMT; 1:15 am Manila time), Obama reiterated that Americans are on the same team, regardless of their political affiliation.

“We are Americans first. We’re patriots first. We all want what’s best for this country,” Obama said. 

“That’s what I heard in Mr Trump’s remarks last night. That’s what I heard when I spoke to him directly. And I was heartened by that.”

Obama’s speech comes after a separate concession speech by Hillary Clinton, who also offered to work with Trump in the nation-building process. – with reports from Agence France-Presse/Rappler.com

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.